Scouts bid Mr. Dinwiddy goodbye

Chief Scout of the Cayman Islands, Governor Mr. Bruce Dinwiddy was bid adieu by officials and members of the Scouting Movement, and presented with keepsake mementos of his service to the boys’ group.

During an informal farewell ceremony, Scouts’ Chief Commissioner Orrett Connor thanked the Chief Scout for his years of dedication to Scouting, and expressed well-wishes for Mr. Dinwiddy and his wife Emma, who served as the Patron of the Scouts’ Sister-Group the Girl Guides, states a press release.

Mr. Connor was accompanied by other top Scout officials: Executive Commissioner Winston Hayle; Assistant Chief Commissioner – Cubs, Mrs. Joanna Clarke; and Assistant Chief Commissioner – Programmes, Mr. Robert Geofroy.

Boy Scout Jasen Dawson presented a Cayman Islands Scout Badge to the Chief Scout, and Patrol Leader Matthias Barnett presented a gift of a framed plaque with a sailing vessel surrounded by an assortment of maritime knots. Assistant Scout Leader Fritz McPhearson and Senior Patrol Leader Ryan Whittaker also attended.

The Chief Scout commented on the high calibre of scouts, as indicated in the high number of Lord Baden Powell Fellows locally – as the Cayman Islands has the highest per capita number of these top Scouting dignitaries in the world.

The Governor also expressed praise for the work of the boy scouts and their leaders, notably their impressive colour parties at ceremonial parades, and wished them well in their future endeavours, especially the 2007 World Scouts Jamboree which will be hosted by the United Kingdom.

It is expected that the new governor, Mr. Stuart Jack, CVO, will continue the tradition of serving as Chief Scout of the Cayman Islands.

Comments are closed.