Chowder Inc. and DoT receive Adrian award

Chowder, Inc. and the Department of Tourism are recent recipients of the prestigious Adrian Award for innovation and creativity in an advertising programme.

The competition is sponsored by the Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International.

According to a press release from DoT, the Adrian Award is the pre-eminent awards programme for the hospitality industry, bestowed upon companies for their innovation and creativity.

The creative team at Chowder, driven by partners Kim Ketchell, Tony Kobylinski and Jim Ritterhoff, with input and support from the Department of Tourism, produced the award-winning campaign ‘Close to Home. Far From Expected’.

Launched in late 2004 to US print, web and broadcast outlets, Close to Home imparts the Department of Tourism’s key messages. ‘We wanted to create a campaign that was of Cayman, not just about Cayman,’ said Mr. Ritterhoff. ‘Every execution has to have some element of the sea (each advertisement includes a trademark wave), but must also showcase the plethora of things to do in Cayman, both above and below the surface.’

‘It was important to reinforce what Cayman is still best known for – world-class diving and water-sports but to also illustrate Cayman’s excellence in other perhaps lesser-known areas, including service, dining, hotels and attractions,’ added Kobylinski.

Chowder also relies heavily on the support of local Caymanians. Through the years, photographers David Wolfe, Courtney Platt and Patrick Broderick have all provided material for the ad campaign, while Caymanians have modelled for the ads themselves, says the release. ‘Some might even recognize the voices of Olivia Scott and former Junior Minister of Tourism Joni Ebanks in the TV spots. Hotel operators, restaurateurs, proprietors and local production crews have all assisted Chowder at one point or another,’ the release continued.

‘On behalf of the Department of Tourism, I would like to congratulate Chowder and everyone involved with the ad campaign, on the Adrian Award which honours creative brilliance in hospitality, travel, and tourism-related marketing,’ said Pilar Bush, Director of Tourism. ‘This honour bestowed upon Cayman is testament to all of the significant efforts and excellence we strive for in marketing the destination.’

This is the 47th year of the Adrian Advertising competition, now the largest travel and hospitality related award in the world. In 2004, the competition had more than 1500 entries from 46 countries. Previous winners include Greater Philadelphia Tourism Marketing Corporation and DDB Seattle for Holland America cruise line. Once entries are submitted, contest judges score each participant in the categories of marketing objectives, creativity, quality, content, and result. Entries are based on a graduated point system ranging from 0-50.

Some more Caymanians who have assisted with television, print and production include: Aryn Broderick, Notch (and band), Satina DaCosta, Denton Rivers, Alan Bennett, Lisa Ebanks, Kourtni Jackson, Jennie Henning, Catherine Muller, Kealani Bush, Kory McLean, Kelsie McLean, Genet Mellaneo, Krystal Chung, Brian Myers, Anique Holness; Charles Gregory, Cathy Church, Ron Kipp, Brian Huff, Mike Barrowman, Elizabeth Henning, Larry Blair, Kirk Rowe, Jo-Anne Brown, Ken Hydes.

Comments are closed.