Tennis group gets new chief

At a recent Annual General Meeting a new president and officers of the Tennis Federation of the Cayman Islands were elected.

Mr. Ramon Alberga was nominated and elected president of the federation, which is the Cayman Islands branch of the International Tennis Federation, based in Roehampton, England.

Other officers elected were Michael Ryan, vice president; Sandra Dailey, treasurer; and Geraldine Duckworth, secretary.

All officers have previously served as president of the Cayman Islands Tennis Club, the sole member of the federation.

Mr. Alberga paid tribute to the work of previous President Chris Johnson and his board.

The new president’s first task was a pleasant one, to oversee the 2006 draw for Wimbledon tickets.

This took place at The Tennis Club in South Sound and six lucky couples were able to go to the famous tennis tournament this summer.

Wimbledon tickets are not sold on the open market, so the draw for the federation’s ticket allocation is eagerly awaited by tennis fans each year.

Comments are closed.