Digicel Cup squad gets in shape

The Cayman Islands football team leaves for Guadeloupe next month in high spirits for the second stage of the Caribbean Football Union Digicel Caribbean Cup competition.

Technical director Carl Brown is inviting the following players back into training for serious preparations.

The players are Tuda Murphy, Jermaine Brown, Rene Carter, Mario Watler, Horace Nelson, Leighton Elliot, Trevor Gibbs, Philip Berry, Benjamin Cupid, Jairo Sanchez, Dion Brandon, O’Neil Taylor, Carson Fagan, Garth Anderson, Chris Douglas, Calvin Escobar, Eric Brown, Nikolai Hill, Ian Lindo and John Kelly.

In addition the following players are invited to join the squad in training.

The are former national team captain Tom Elliot who was out due to injury, Lion Whittaker, Paul Brown, Donald Solomon, Dave McLaughlin, Theron Wood, Nicholas Ebanks, Jedd Ebanks, Mark Ebanks, Gabriel Godet, Jason Ebanks, Mario Dinnall, Roy Forbes, Richard Grant, Andre McFarlane and Zetroy Robertson.

The Cayman Islands hosted Group C of the competition two weeks ago and the national team was placed second which qualified them for the second stage.

This gives Cayman the hope of reaching the finals in Kingston, Jamaica in December.

Cayman beat St Martin 3-0 and drew 1-1 and 0-0 with winners of the group Antigua and Barbuda and Bermuda respectively.

This squad will be undergoing intensive training and a team including the starting 11, six substitutes and a reserve keeper will be selected from this group to represent the island.

The association is determined to take the national team to another level in this competition and is therefore appealing for all the support from the government, the private sector and the general public to assist in making their trip to Guadeloupe possible.

Comments are closed.