Rayle is new track president

At the recent annual general meeting the Cayman Islands Athletic Association, a new president and leadership board was appointed.

Their main responsibility is to promote and develop track and field in the Cayman Islands and as well as manage the country’s professional athletes.

Outgoing President Delroy Murray stepped down after a four year term at the helm and welcomed Rayle Roberts as the new president.

Roberts, former Vice-President of the board, thanked the general membership for their vote of confidence, noting that he wanted to ensure that the CIAA would be an organization that puts the athletes of the Cayman Islands first.

He said: ‘We have some very talented athletes in the Cayman Islands and we need to be here for them, to support them and to ensure that we do everything possible to ensure their success and development in the sport.’

No stranger to athletics, Roberts, a high school and college track athlete, has been dedicated to strengthening the local programme for years.

Supporting the new president on the board are Harcourt Wason – 1st Vice President, John-Paul Clarke – 2nd Vice President, Sana Carter-Tugman – Secretary, Liz Smith – Assistant Secretary, Paula Erskine – Treasurer, and Ordinary members Michael Nalty and Elizabeth Ibeh with Coaches Kenrick Williams and Tyrone Yen.

As president, Roberts’ first task will be to generate more public support for local meets as well as raise funds and generate much needed corporate financial support for the programme.

Track and field is doing very well in Cayman, especially the youngsters Ashleigh Nalty (high jump), Travis Webb (high jump) and Chantelle Morrison (100m/200m) have all attained the qualifying marks for the World Youth Championships 2009 to be held in Bressanone, Italy.

Also three athletes who recently did well at the Commonwealth Youth Games in India will still be eligible at the next Games in 2011 in the Isle of Man. They are Morrison, Nalty and Gizelle Wright.

* For more information on the CIAA contact Harcourt Wason on 916-6966.