Mothersill and Forbes shine so bright

Some of Cayman’s best track stars were honoured at the Cayman Islands Athletic Association’s annual awards dinner held on Saturday night.

The substantial crowd of onlookers and well-wishers at the Mary Miller Hall witnessed Cydonie Mothersill and Ronald Forbes win the 2008 female and male athletes of the year titles.

Their overall achievements last year, in particular at the Beijing Olympics, made them deserving winners. Cydonie made the finals in the 200 metres sprint and Ronald made the quarter-finals in the 110m hurdles.

Other winners were:

Youth Female

Ashleigh Nalty

Youth Male

Jamal Walton

Junior Female

Alexandra Terry

Junior Male

Travis Webb

The event was well attended as many family members, friends and supporters came to honour the athletes who represented the Cayman Islands in 2008. Each national representative was presented with a certificate of appreciation for their representation.

In addition awards were also presented to team managers, chaperones, coaches, volunteers and immediate past executive members.

President of CIAA Rayle Roberts gave his president’s address and vision for the association for the next four years.

Also in attendance was President from North America Central America and the Caribbean Neville ‘Teddy’ McCook who gave his greetings from the NACAC region.

In his closing remarks Master of Ceremonies Harcourt Wason thanked the attendees and the sponsors: Richard Hew from CUC, Truman Bodden, Donald McLean from the Cayman Islands Olympic Committee, Health Care Pharmacy, Cayman National Bank, Le Blue and the Cayman Islands Government for their sponsorship and continued support of the CIAA.

Anyone interested in helping the CIAA can e-mail the association at [email protected].

Comments are closed.