Lions’ changing of the guards

The Lions Club of Tropical Gardens held its yearly installation of Officers’ Banquet on Saturday, 6 June.

The banquet, which was held at the Wharf restaurant, featured Lion Anne Hunte handing over the presidential baton to Melrose Gooding for the administrative year commencing on July 1.

The outgoing president gave an account of her stewardship for the 2008-2009 ‘Lionistic year’ and thanked members for their unwavering support.

During the period under review, the Club was recognized for its hard work, dedication and service to the Cayman Islands community, especially in the area of breast cancer awareness. The Club’s newsletter and public relations were also highlighted by the District for special commendation.

Mrs. Sophia Harris, LLB was the guest speaker for the evening. She commended the Lions Club for its wealth of achievements, in particular, women’s health, as well as challenged it to continue finding new ways to serve the community.

Incoming President Lion Melrose Gooding pledged to continue the Club’s many service projects and asked for support from members and community in launching initiatives.

She also invited members to, ‘hope in the face of difficulty and uncertain economic times.’

Gooding went on to say, ‘The service that the Club provides in our community will become even more valuable and important in the days and months that come.’

The new President’s theme for 2009-2010 is, ‘Members Joining Hands and Hearts for a Healthy Community.’

During the evening’s proceedings, Lions Anne Hunt, Marcia Cornale and Dr. Steve Tomlinson, were each awarded a Melvin Jones Fellowship, which is the highest honor recognized by the Lions Club International Foundation.

Region 4 Chairman, Lion Marcia Ormsby, MJF, came from Jamaica to assist Lion Chairperson, John E. Ebanks, PMJF, in installing the new Board.

The 2009-2010 Board are as follows: PresidentMelrose Gooding; Immediate Past President-Anne Hunte; 1st Vice President-Wendy Wiltshire; 2nd Vice President-Belinda Blessitt-Vincent; 3rd Vice president-Nereen Thomas; Secretary-Elva Smith; Treasurer-Eleanor Conolly, MJF; 1 year Directors-Blanca Welds, MJF and Patricia Bazell-Taylor, MJF; 2 Year Directors-Jondo Obi and Althea Vernon; Tamer- Adonia Barnes, MJF; Tail Twister-Marcia Cornale, MJF; Membership Director-Kerry Nixon, MJF.