Speirs again in record turn out

 All marathon events have their own uniqueness and the Cayman version boasts that it is one of the most scenic and best organised in the world which is why so many visitors make up a portion of the great event. That was certainly true on Sunday as over 700 runners entered the 2010 staging of the 26.2 mile race that attracted 200-plus overseas competitors. It was a turn out record and will surely continue to grow as the event’s reputation gathers kudos.
All involved in the organising, particularly race director Rhonda Kelly and her tireless colleagues Laurie-Ann Holding and Bev Sinclair of Kelly Holding, deserve immense props.
The weather was as near to perfection in a tropical climate that they can be. Starting at 5am, there was a distinct chill and a cooling breeze, ideal for those running for up to six hours.
The show was
stolen by Tristan Miller, who completed his 50th marathon for the year in a bid to raise money for charity as part of his Run Like Crazy crusade.
The full marathon was won by Welshman Steve Speirs – who is based in Virginia Beach – who retained his title in 2 hours 52 minutes and 18 seconds, a little faster than his time last year.
Cayman Free Press super salesman Mark Hogan rounded off a great year with second place and had the satisfaction of breaking three hours for the first time in 2:59:23.
Tennis coach Eduardo Torres always aims to break three hours but never quite manages it. He was third in 3:04:14. Tom Dehart, from Spokane, Washington, was fourth in 3:10:10.
Cayman resident Beth Schreader, like last year, was first woman home, fifth overall in 3:10:46. Then came Richard Barber in 3:29:34, Caroline Chaill in 3:32:52 and eighth was Thomas Dankenbring from Cincinnati in 3:32:16.
In the half marathon, bolting banker Marius Acker took his fifth title and managed to break his own record to win by a long way in 1:15:49. Geoff Riggs from Ottawa was second in 1:23:05 and Russell Coleman third in 1:23:56.
In the four-member team event Hy-Tech Tigers Seaford cruised to victory in 2:53:09, ahead of the British Bulldogs (2:53:54) and Road Kill (3:07:08).
World class wheelchair competitors Ryan Chalmers and Brian Siemann whizzed around the circuit too.
• There is more coverage in a special eight-page feature in Wednesday’s paper.

Speirs retained his title.

Comments are closed.