Seafarers elect new board


John Douglas was elected president of
the Seafarers’ Association of the Cayman Islands at its Annual General Meeting
on 15 February. 

Other board members are: past president
Hartman Da Costa, Vice President Janilee Clifford, Secretary Louis Ebanks, Treasurer
Gurney Panton, and council members Booth Hurlston, Trevor Watler, Dexter
Ebanks, Delano Bush and Raymond Barnes. 

A report of the activity of the
association for the year past was also read. Some of the highlights from last
year included raising $5,000 for the Heart Fund, as well as $1,000 for Cayman
Hospice Care. The club was also able to increase the benefits of seamen from
$1,000 to $2,000 to assist with burial. Some $10,000 was raised for the
association at its annual Christmas party and raffle. 

Also mentioned were Mr. Da Costa’s
visits to people who were ill and assisting those in need of medical care

In his remarks, Mr. Da Costa said he was
not worried about the future of the organisation, as he was leaving it in good
hands and welcomed the incoming president.  

Mr. Douglas said he was eager to get
started with the task ahead, as well as to finish up any work that was under
way by the previous president.  

He thanked Mr. Da Costa for his year of
service with the association, and he thanked the new board for agreeing to
serve with him. 

“I will be calling on all you for help,
and I promise to continue the good work that has been started,” said Mr. Douglas. 

Comments are closed.