Gillie’s kids repeat cup glory

Cayman Athletic Sports Club has some excellent youth teams and the best one this season has been the Under-15.

They created history on Sunday at the TE McField Annex Field when they defeated Academy 2-1 to win the FA Cup. Scoring for Cayman Athletic was Ernie Jacques while the second goal was given as an own goal against Academy after it bounced off the foot of Kevin Foster.

This is the third season that the Ernie ‘Gillie’ Seymour coached team has done the cup double having also won the U-15 League Cup as well last week. This season’s team was co-captioned by Roshaine Anderson and Kevin ‘Chicken’ Foster.

The team overcame injuries and exhaustion, some having played just the day before in the U-13 League to prove their resilience. Luca Polloni scored Academy’s consolation goal in the 54th minute.

Cayman Athletic Sports Club is a non-profit organisation geared towards helping youngsters to better promote positive sportsmanship and healthy living through football.

The club consists of an U-13, U-15, U-17 and a first division men’s team. There are over 90 players in the club ranging in age from 8-30. Under the leadership of coach Gillie and a strong executive team, made up of dedicated parents, the young club which was founded in 2006 has achieved many accolades, including winning the Welsh Shield Cup Under-10 in 2008 and the U-13 Challenge Cup Runners Up.

Cayman Athletic’s Paulette Conolly-Bailey said: “The club would like to thank the parents, fans and sponsors namely, Central Cooling, Law Firm Stuarts Walker Hersant, Financial Integrated Services, Moneygram, Health Care Pharmacy, Miss Martin and GTPS and everyone who has quietly supported the club throughout the past seasons.”

Meanwhile, a brilliant goal from Sebastian Martinez in the 62nd minute was all Academy Sporting Club needed to defeat Cayman Athletic’s U-13 in the Youth FA Cup on Saturday at the TE McField Sports Centre.

Both teams played well but in the end Academy had an historic win taking this championship for the first time ever.


Front Row : (Left to Right ) Rayshawn Connor, Leo Ebanks, Dandre Rowe, Arin Taylor , Christopher Myles, Javon Seymour Second Row : ( President Antwan Seymour, Brandon Maxwell, Tyrek Burke, Ernie Jacques, Jon Paul Maxwell, Goalie Shakur Welcome, Jamaal Seymour, Coach Gillie Seymour, MLA Cline Glidden Third Row: Joshewa Frederick, Jonah Ebanks, Malik Ebanks, Cory Diaz , Kevin Foster, Roshaine Anderson .