Kings fight in Atlanta

The Cayman Islands Kings Travel Team are venturing to Snellville, Georgia on the outskirts of Atlanta.

There the squad will participate in the ECHO Travel Light Hockey Finals on 26-30 April. The C.I. Kings, which are part of the umbrella School of Fitness programme, are coming off a successful 2011 campaign, which saw a gold and silver medal in June at the Sunshine State Tournament and the launch of the youngest Eight and Under division in October.

The C.I. Kings, in their hopes for a successful Atlanta performance, have been training hard since January. In addition to their 5.40am practices, this year the programme introduced Sunday morning beach training routines to help increase the player’s speed and general fitness.

A special note of appreciation is extended to volunteers Nicole Hastings, Julie Hughes and Nancy Barnard for their efforts with organizing logistics and team fundraisers. In total, 72 travellers representing Cayman players, coaches and fans will be making the trip to Snellville; thanks to the efforts of the C.I. Kings fundraising committee and many private and corporate donations.

On 11 February, they hosted Hockey Day in Cayman at the Club House Sports bar and restaurant. The successful fundraising event included Bingo, a Raffle, Hockey Pick’em, skills competition, 50/50 draw. The event looks to be the next major annual event to support the team.

In total five teams from three divisions will be representing the Cayman hockey programme.

The C.I. Kings line-up includes: 12U – Adam McWatt, Keegan O’Connor, Jacob Walters, Morgan McCartney, Nicole Whittaker, Ryan Lloyd, Elizabeth Johnson, Danny Link, Davin Gallagher, Hunter Wilkom, Josh McCartney, Kai Robinson-Allard, Ethan Finlason, Matthew Wilkins, coach Kevin Lloyd, coach Raymond Singh and coach Jim Johnson.

10U – Kai Robinson-Allard, Jabari Walrond, Scott Lewis, Jered Holmes, Turner Johnson, Nathan Hughes, Elizabeth Johnson, Lex Dobson, Marc Nelson, Ryan Godwin, Luke Barnard, Ethan Finlason, Justin Hastings with Scott Hughes, Jim Johnson, Raymond Singh and Rich Hastings as coaches.

8U – Alex Priestley, Evin Johnson, Josh Small, Kayden Knapik, Levi Superville, Nick McCallum, Ryan Godwin, Sadie Finch, Justin Hastings, Jayden Mannisto with Raymond Singh and Aaron Knapik as coaches.

For more information, e-mail [email protected]

Comments are closed.