Speedy revs up for more props

Motorsports fans can rev up their engines for another meet.

The Cayman Motorsports Association will stage its next autocross meet in the Time Attack series this weekend. The Progressive Loop will serve as host from 1.30pm on Sunday, 29 July.

The 2012 autocross season has not been short of excitement as head-to-head racing has increased turnout and drama. Last year’s top riders, such as Keith ‘Speedy’ Tibbetts III in his Valvoline Impreza Sti, Jimel McLean in a Honda Civic and Bobby Hulse in a Toyota Altezza, have kept their form. Andy Bodden’s Mitsubishi Evolution VIII and Roje Williams’ Nissan Silvia have been among those making notable appearances.

Many of those names had stellar showings at the last race on 1 July. Speedy claimed the Unlimited division, beating out Hulse, Tom Kirkconnell and Gary Huggins. McLean nabbed the street group crown, edging out Jose Massias, Phil Harper and Reynaldo Powery.

In all, there were 12 racers for the last meet. Among the notable participants were Richard Crawshaw, Ian Tibbetts and Marcus Huggins.

Registration for Sunday’s race takes place on Friday, 27 July, at 6-8pm at Tony’s Toys. Drivers are charged a $25 race fee while spectators can watch for free. Cash prizes will be on offer.

For more information, e-mail [email protected]