Turks to host tourism award

The Turks and Caicos Islands will host the World Travel Awards, the “Oscars of the travel industry”, this year.

The World Travel Awards’ Caribbean and The Americas Ceremony 2012 will take place on 14 September at the Beaches Turks and Caicos Resort Villages and Spa.

Decision-makers from leading travel organisations across the Caribbean and Americas are scheduled to attend the event.

The World Travel Awards was launched in 1993 to acknowledge and recognise excellence in the global travel and tourism industry and is now regarded as the very highest achievement that a product could hope to receive.

Graham E Cooke, president and founder of the World Tourism Awards, said: “We are delighted to be hosting our Caribbean and The Americas Ceremony 2012 in Turks and Caicos, a paradise destination currently enjoying a surge in tourism arrivals. The nation is entering an exciting new chapter in its history, and tourism will play an even greater role in its economic evolution.”

He adds: “As the country’s largest private sector employer, Beaches exemplifies the importance of travel and tourism in Turks and Caicos in generating jobs and tourism revenue. The resort has also taken the family vacation concept to a whole new level in the Caribbean.”

Gordon “Butch” Stewart, chairman of Sandals and Beaches Resorts, is thrilled to once again host the awards. “There is no better event that epitomises the incredible products of the travel and tourism industry than the World Travel Awards,” Mr. Stewart said. “Beaches Resorts is honoured to host this year’s Caribbean and The Americas Gala in the beautiful Turks and Caicos.”

The Caribbean and The Americas Ceremony 2012 marks the second leg of the World Tourism Awards Grand Tour, a global search for the world’s leading travel brands, which also includes regional heats in Dubai, Nairobi, Singapore and The Algarve. The winners of these legs will then go head-to-head at WTA’s Grand Final, which takes place at The Oberoi, Gurgaon, New Delhi, India on 12 December 2012.