Anglin returns to direct hurlers

Cayman darts will be under familiar leadership.

Paul Anglin has been re-elected as the president of the Cayman Islands Darts Association. Anglin was voted in for a second straight term at the association’s Annual General Meeting last week at the Mango Tree bar and restaurant.

Approximately 45 members were in attendance with association vice president Frank Martyr taking the role of emcee. The executive committee was unanimously returned to office. In addition to Anglin resuming his presidency, Martyr is back as vice president, Michelle Cullen is treasurer, Miriam Rodriguez is secretary and Cassius Anglin is venue inspector.

Trophy presentations were done for the Trevor Lloyd Memorial 2012 Team Cup and 2011-2012 national league. The Trevor Lloyd Memorial winners were Fil-Cayman Darts Fanatics1, captained by local star Mel Tagalog.

League runners-up were the Rainbow Legends, captained by Martyr. League winners were Fil-Cayman Darts Fanatics1. Male rookie of the year went to Leonard Puri and the top female rookie was Bhebz Florendo.

The most Most Improved Player went to Norrin Stewart (male) and Rosyl De Guzman (female). The Most Valuable Player awards went to Earl Smith (male) and Michelle Terry (female).

An account of the association’s financial standing was then presented by Cullen, followed by the president’s overview of events for 2011-2012 by Paul Anglin. The elections were then held.

To conclude the meeting, members decided that elections should take place every two years to coincide with the Caribbean Championships. Among the future plans for darts in the Cayman Islands is to get the game started on Cayman Brac and in the local schools.

On behalf of its members, the association thanks all of the sponsors, the venues and the media for their continued support.

Comments are closed.