Top throwers nail their bull’s eyes

Numerous players can shine during the upcoming tournament season for Cayman darts.

The Cayman Islands Darts Association recently honoured its top players at its Annual General Meeting at the Mango Tree bar.

Fil-Cayman Darts Fanatics1, featuring the likes of captain Mel Tagalog, Leonard Puri, Marcelo Junio and Eugene and Rosyl De Guzman, won the Trevor Lloyd Memorial 2012 Team Cup and the 2011-2012 national league.

League runners-up were the Rainbow Legends, captained by Frank Martyr. Male rookie of the year went to Puri and the top female rookie was Bhebz Florendo.

The most Most Improved Player went to Norrin Stewart (male) and Rosyl De Guzman (female). The Most Valuable Player awards went to Earl Smith (male) and Michelle Terry (female).

Newly re-elected association president Paul Anglin, who now gets a two-year term, states they have all been impressive.

“Michelle repeated the honours of female MVP as she was also MVP for 2010-2011,” Anglin said. “She is consistent in her game and is, without a doubt, the one to beat. She is, to date, the longest playing female member of the Cayman Islands darts scene.

“Norrin is still fairly new to the sport but has thrown some impressive darts over the past few months, earning him most improved honours. Just recently, he made the national team and travelled to Belize to compete in the Caribbean Darts Championships, where he was amongst the top players for Cayman.

“Norrin showed no fear and beat some stiff competition to reach the quarter-finals of the singles competition; where he lost a very close game and was eliminated. If he continues improving as rapid as he is, he will be the one to beat in the near future.”

Local darts is gearing up for a number of competitions. So far, the lone confirmed event is the annual Mickey Mouse tournament on 18 November, during the Pirates Week national festival.

Comments are closed.