Open water relay competition attracts 26 teams

Immediately after, there was a BBQ to raise funds for the 2015 CARIFTA team competing in Barbados over the Easter weekend.

The event – which took place last year as a fun, untimed, fundraising event – was the brainchild of Andy Copley, former head coach at Stingray Swim Club. This year, Cayman Islands Amateur Swimming Association director Sandy Hew, along with sponsor reps David and Christina Kirkaldy of Massive Equipment Rental and Sales, took the event to a new level.

“Swimming is a natural sport for us in Cayman,” said David Kirkaldy. “It teaches the value of hard work, perseverance and teamwork. It unifies our community. We look forward to supporting this event for many years to come.” The relay was 4 x 400 meters for 12 & Under teams and 4 x 800m for all other swimmers including the corporate teams.

Swimmers received a gift bag which contained a goggle bungee cord and a T-shirt to commemorate the event.

All swimmers taking part had a great time, sprinting down the beach and diving in from the shore.

Swimming association president Michael Lockwood also took part, swimming with Team Gillian.

“This is a great new addition to the CIASA open water calendar,” he said. “It is a fun event which all swimmers can take part in, increasing their open water experience and raising funds for our national swimmers who represent the Cayman Islands in a number of international competitions every year.”

The winning teams were: 12 & Under – Rainbow Freaks (Corey Westerbourg, Olivia Plunkett, Stephanie Royston and Liam Sinclair); 13-14 – The Dolphins (Audrey Weber, Sabine Ellison, Sammie Rowland and Holly Stradling); 15-17 – Senior Frogs (Cole Morgan, Iain McCallum, Jonathan Key and Catriona MacRae); 18-39 – Excel-erators (Jessica Achstatter, Tim Achstatter, Ben Creasey and Matt Seegelar); 40 & Over – Dunkin Dave’s Donuts (Jon Roney, Lee Anne Corin, Andrea Killam-Higgo and Dave Bott); and the Corporate Division – Flashy Nation (Jamie Ebanks, Anthony Lyons, DJ Juice and William Balderamos).


Sandy Hew was race director

Comments are closed.