Cayman track stars bring back medals

Cayman athletes came away with a 29 medal haul when they visited the 30th annual Miami Northwest Track and Field Classic.

The CAF Track and Field Club took 21 athletes – 12 girls and nine boys – to the two-day meet.

Also making the trip were four athletes from the Hy-Tek Track Club along with collegiate athletes Ronald Forbes and Stephon Johnson, who flew from Missouri to join the team in Florida.

CAF’s 19-medal tally was made up of eight gold, eight silver and three bronze. Three gold, one silver and two bronze was Hy-Tek’s haul and the other medals went to colle-giate Stephon Johnson who had a gold and two silver to add to the gold he picked up in the men’s 4×400 combined relay team.

What should have been a three-day meet turned out to be a tougher two-day schedule as day one was postponed because of South Florida thunderstorms.

Day two started with the 100m heats and saw Cayman with 13 semi-finalists going through into day three.

Doing well were Christen Jones in the bantam division, Chantelle Morrison, Ashleigh Nalty and Giselle Wright in the midget girls division, Anissa Owen, Avryl Myers, Jahzenia Thomas in the youth girls division.

Due to an early injury sustained by Jahzenia Thomas she was unable to take part in the semi-finals of her 100m race.

Also figuring was Treveen Stewart of Hy-Tek in the intermediate division and Jenna Gaio of the CAF Club in the open women division, Justin Nalty in the bantam div, Stephon Johnson and Keswick Wright in the open men division.

Going through to the finals were Christen Jones, Chantelle Morrison, Gizelle Wright, Justin Nalty, Jenna Gaio, Stephon Johnson, Keswick Wright, Treveen Stewart and Anissa Owen.

In the finals of the 800m girls intermediate Gillian Roffey managed a second place finish despite an in-jured leg.

In the 200 semi-finals Treveen Stewart and Rhymiech Adolphus from the Hy-Tek Club made it to the finals. Also making it to the finals were Stephon Johnson and CAF members Chantelle Morri-son, Anissa Owen and Jenna Gaio.

At the end of day two the medals tally was three gold and two silver medals for CAF with Anissa Owen winning the 13-14 high jump (5ft) and silver in the long jump (16.01ft.)

Ashleigh Nalty of CAF won gold in the 10-11 girls high jump with a leap of 4.08ft. Travis Webb won gold in the 13-14 boys high jump with a leap of 5ft and Gillian Roffey came in sec-ond in the 15-16 girls 800m (2.29.82.)

Also making the medal podium on day two was the Hy-Tek pair of Alexander Terry in the girls 13-14 discus with a first place throw of 32.34m and Daniel Terry in the boys 15-16 discus with a third place throw of 22.55m.

The morning session of day three produced two gold and two silver in the 1500m walk race for CAF and one gold and a silver for Hy-Tek.

Winning gold for CAF in the 1500m race walk was Shanique Yen in the 11-12 girls division (9.49.44). Shanique has now won this event three years in a row.

Felicia Bodden won gold in the 13-14 in the 1500m race walk youth in a time of 10.51.09. Taking the silver in the same event was Roselyn Seymour (10.53.54). G. Brown took silver in the 11-12 boys in the 1500m race walk midget (10.51.39).

Winning gold for Hy-Tek was Alexander Terry in the 13-14 girls javelin with a throw of 21.35m and Daniel Terry won silver in the 15-16 boys javelin divi-sion (22.55m).

In the 100m finals the CAF first finalist was Cris-ten Jones who competed in the 9-10 girls division. She managed a seventh place finish in a time 15.13.

Justin Nalty in the boys equivalent took fourth place in a time of 14.36. Chantelle Morrison and Giselle Wright were next in the 11-12 girls division. Chantelle won the gold in a time of 12.9 and has won this event two years in a row. Gizelle Wright was fourth in a time of 13.61.

The 13-14 girls event saw Anissa Owen secure the silver in a time of 12.96.

Treveen Stewart of Hy-Tek managed a sixth place finish (13.46). Jenna Gaio competed in the 19-29 open age group and took second place in 12.76.

In the men’s equivalent there was a dramatic finish between Stephon Johnson (second) and CAF’s Kes-wick Wright (third).

In the 200m finals both clubs were well represented with Chantelle Morrison, Anissa Owen and Jenna Gaio of CAF and Rhymeich Adolphus and Treveen Stewart of Hy-Tek and Stephon Johnson.

Chantelle Morrison took part in the 11-12 girls division and won in a time of 27.50, in the process tak-ing the sprint double for that age group.

Anissa Owen was next in the 14-14 girls division and managed a seventh place in a time 27.69.

Treveen Stewart took sixth place in the 15-16 girls division in a time of 26.69. Rhymeich Adolphus finished seventh (22.82). Jenna Gaio also took the silver in the 19-29 open women division (26.28) and Stephon Johnson in the men’s equivalent took the silver (21.31).

Ronald Forbes took the 110mh, setting an unofficial new national record time of 14.39. Mauricio Terry managed a third place in the 11-12 boys long jump with a leap of 4.39m and Justin Nalty also took the 9-10 boys bronze (14.36ft).

Jenna Gaio competed in the 19-29 open women division and won gold in that event with a leap of 5.29m along with Stephon Johnson in the men’s 19-29 with a leap of 7.21m.

In the 4×100 relays rep-resenting CAF was the 11-12 girls team of Gizelle Wright, Chantelle Morrison, Kristen Dixon and Ashleigh Nalty.

Expectation was high as they had won the event two years in a row. But this time they were beaten with a time of 54.17 by the John Mills School of Jamaica (53.59).

In the men’s 4×100, Rhymeich Adolphus, Stephon Johnson, Ronald Forbes and Keswick Wright took the event with a season best time for Cay-man of 41.55.

At the end of the meet Jenna Gaio won the MVP awards for the 19-29 open women division and Stephon Johnson took the MVP for the men’s division.

The female team also received a trophy for finish-ing fourth overall with the men taking seventh overall out of more than 20 teams.

Among the medals were Jenna Gaio (one gold, two silver), Chantelle Morrison (two gold, one silver), Anissa Owen (one gold, two silver), Stephon Johnson (two gold, two silver), Kes-wick Wright (one gold, one bronze) and Ronald Forbes (two gold).

Thanks go out from CAF, coach Tyrone Yen and team manager Sana Tugman to all the parents and sponsors who helped to make the trip such a success.