Rotary Club of Grand Cayman holds changeover

The Rotary Club of Grand Cayman held its Changeover Dinner and Installation of Officers and Directors last Thursday at the Westin Casuarina Resort.

David Kirkaldy took the reins of president from Ray Whittaker as the Club looks to rebound from the challenges both it and its members faced since Hurricane Ivan.

Mr. Whittaker, who suffered several personal losses as a result of the hurricane, said serving in the Rotary Club gave him a way of dealing with his own losses by helping others.

Mr. Kirkaldy said he would emphasise fellowship as a way for the club to move beyond Hurricane Ivan.

President elect Joey Hew served as emcee for the event, and he invited long-time Rotarian Reggie Parsons to present the Custos Parsons Award to Elizabeth Hurlston.

Honorary Rotarian Governor Bruce Dinwiddy, who was attending his third and final Rotary Club of Grand Cayman changeover, helped present the award to Mrs. Hurlston.

Mr. Parsons received a notable award himself for 24 years of perfect Rotary Club attendance. However, Mr. Parsons said he would not attend club meetings as regularly going into the future.

The award for Rotarian of the Year went to Sharon Hurlston, the club’s new vice president.

Another honouree during the evening was David Foster, who had completed 26 years of perfect attendance.

Mr. Foster was too ill to attend the event, and subsequently passed away Sunday morning.

Comments are closed.