New president at helm of Rotary Sunrise

Stuart Diamond is the new president of Rotary Sunrise.

Mr. Diamond, the principal of Diamond Law Associates, is a charter member and becomes the club’s fourth president.

New Sunrise Officers for 2005-06 are:

President Elect: Hendrik van Genderen;

Vice President: Wilfred Van Dam;

Secretary: Rosie Jamieson;

Treasurer: Andy Salisbury;

Immediate Past President: Chris Bowering;

Directors: Patrizia Amante (Fellowship), Tim Dailey and Russell Smith (Fund Raising), Debbie Ann Lee and Woody Foster (Vocational), and John Epp (International).

A celebration dinner held at Pappaggallo Restaurant was attended by the Governor, Bruce Dinwiddy and his wife Emma – who are both Rotarians – along with Rotary District Governor Elect Alastair Paterson, Assistant District Governor Sophia Harris and other service club representatives, said a press release from the club.

Sunrise Rotary, together with Grand Cayman’s two other Rotary clubs, has had a remarkable year, raising almost CI$1,000,000 for the post-Ivan recovery efforts, the release noted.

Sunrise also raffled its topless Mini Cooper convertible, helped several local schools renew their libraries, assisted Bonaventure and the Pines, and helped with clean-up efforts after the storm. The club has also been active in saving the national flower, the Cayman Orchid.

Sunrise made a significant contribution to tsunami relief and other international efforts in India and elsewhere, the release said.

Rotary Sunrise has 61 members, mostly young professionals from Cayman and 13 other countries. It boasts seven lawyers, 15 accountants, one airline pilot, four bankers and several civil servants among its membership along with National Hero Mrs. Sybil McLaughlin.

Mrs. Emma Dinwiddy, and Mrs. Ingrid Furze are honourary members.

Comments are closed.