Maritime Authority appointed

The Governor, Mr. Bruce Dinwiddy, has appointed six board members of the new Maritime Authority of the Cayman Islands (MACI).

According to a press release, the new authority incorporates into one body several areas. These include the Shipping Registry, Cayman’s Port State Control and Marine Casualty Investigation arms, national maritime policy development and advisory functions and several other maritime related matters.

At the helm of the new board is Attorney Sharon Roulstone who has been appointed Chairman. The position of Deputy Chairman has been filled by Mr. Sydney Coleman.

Mr. Joel Walton, who was appointed in May 2004 as Chief Executive Officer (Designate) and Director of the Cayman Islands Shipping Registry, will serve as an ex-officio member of the board. A board secretary will also be appointed.

Ms Roulstone is an experienced attorney-at-law and a partner with Turner & Roulstone. She has served on several statutory boards since 1992.

‘I am honoured to have been appointed by His Excellency the Governor as the first chairperson of the MACI Board of Directors and am privileged to serve with such a distinguished group of individuals,’ Ms Roulstone said.

‘Cayman’s maritime history is significant and I find it personally gratifying to have the opportunity of being able to continue on that proud tradition through the work of MACI. To that end, I look forward to working with Mr. Walton and his team in building on the framework of this new Authority,’ Ms Roulstone concluded.

Mr. Coleman has been the CEO of Paget Brown Trust Company Ltd since 1983. He is a founding member of the Shipping Sector Consultative Committee, established to provide dialogue between the Shipping Registry and the local private sector practitioners to facilitate innovative solutions to address issues of concern to ship owners, operators, and financiers. .

Other board appointees are Messrs. Woodward Terry, Donovan Ebanks, Andrew Eden and Errol Bush.

Mr. Terry is known for his law firm Woodward Terry & Company and as a founding member of the Shipping Sector Consultative Committee.

Mr. Ebanks is the Deputy Chief Secretary in the Portfolio of Internal and External Affairs and Chairman of the National Hurricane Committee.

Mr. Eden is the immediate past president and an active member of the Cayman Islands Seafarers’ Association.

Mr. Bush is a past Director of the Port Authority. A seventh Director, to be named at a later date, will be selected to provide international maritime expertise.

Mr. Dinwiddy said, ‘The selection of this board was quite challenging among the very distinguished and qualified persons being considered. But I am confident we have brought together a very competent and well-rounded group of individuals to form the MACI Board for the next two years. I wish them every success as they chart the way forward, firmly integrating MACI as a key constituent of the Cayman Islands international financial services sector. ‘