Rotary holds changeover

The Rotary Club of Grand Cayman held its annual changeover dinner and installation of new officers and directors last Thursday night, 6 July.

David Kirkaldy, left

Outgoing President David Kirkaldy, left, receives a Rotary pin from incoming President Joey Hew as President-Elect Sharon Hurlston looks on during the Rotary Club of Grand Cayman Changeover Dinner last week. Photo: Alan Markoff

Outgoing president David Kirkaldy said the past year had been a successful one for the Rotary Club of Grand Cayman.

‘Our year theme was service above self, and my directors have accomplished a series of objectives that met this theme and ultimately resulted in our club being granted a District Governor’s Award,’ he said. ‘The past year’s theme got back the core of Rotary and after a year of hard work following Ivan, I took this theme to be a call to get back to the basics and core activities of the club.’

In addition to supporting the goals and projects of Rotary International, the club concentrated on several community projects in 2005-06, including the Cease Fire gun buy-back programme and the Meals on Wheels programme.

A new programme for high school students, called Adventures in Citizenship, was successfully launched during the year. Rotarian Jim Howse, who proposed the idea, was awarded Rotarian of the Year by Mr. Kirkaldy largely because of his efforts with the new programme.

The year was also very successful financially, with the highlight being the Camelot Auction, which netted CI$115,000 and left the club in a healthy financial situation for the new administration.

Mr. Kirkaldy took time to honour the Rotarians that died during his year, which included Past President David Foster, founding member Norberg Thompson, and long-time member George Serrant. He also noted that Donia Parsons, wife of long time Rotarian Reggie Parsons, also died during the year.

The evening included the award of the Custos Edmund Parsons Memorial Paul Harris Fellowship Award. The award is named after of Rotarian Reggie Parson’s grandfather, who was the last native-born chief executive of the Cayman Islands from the years 1888 through

Richard ‘Dick’ Arch was given the Custos Parsons Award this year, following Will Jackson, Olive Miller, Harold ‘Jay’ Bodden and Elizabeth Hurlston as past distinguished Caymanian recipients.

New President Joey Hew challenged the Rotarians to make a difference in the community through one positive act at a time.

‘We are not just a Thursday social club or a weekly gathering of friends for a good old time, but instead we are community leaders who gather to address today’s most critical issues such as children at risk, poverty and hunger, the environment, literacy and domestic violence,’ he said.

Other new officers installed at the event included President Elect Sharon Hurlston, Vice President Lindsay Scott, Secretary Lori McRae, and Treasurer Niko Whittaker. Mr. Kirkaldy remains an officer as Immediate Past President.

Directors for the coming year include Mr. Scott, Austin Harris, Trevor Neckles, Eduardo D’Angelo Silva, Eric Bush, Alan Roffey, Ian Barnard and Sue Nicholson.