Cayman team sharp in C.U.T. Meet

A group of local track athletes did well at a Caribbean track meet.

Chantelle Morrison

Chantelle Morrison leads the pack in the U13 Girls 100m. Photo: CIAA

Thirty youngsters aged 6-14 went to represent the Cayman Islands at the 11th annual Caribbean Union of Teachers (C.U.T) Track & Field Championships. The event was held in Vieux Fort, St. Lucia at the National Stadium on 21-22 July 2006.

The Cayman team ended the meet with 4 gold, 4 silver and 4 bronze medals. Cayman placed fifth overall in the points standing behind repeat champion Jamaica and regional giants Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados and Grenada. In total, some fourteen Caribbean countries competed at the meet.

The Cayman Islands team had a lot of impressive performances at the C.U.T meet.

Jouri Haylock won the U9 Boys 150m with a time of 20.99 seconds (s). Newcomer Jouri proved to be a force on the track. In addition to his 150m success he won the Boys U9 Long Jump with a leap of 3.67m and the U9 Boys 100m.

Chantelle Morrison won the other gold medal in the U13 Girls 100m with a run of 11.93s. However, she hurt her knee in the process. The injury sidelined her for the rest of the meet.

In the end, the Cayman team showed great effort all-around.

In the Boys U15 Long Jump, Travis Webb produced a personal best Leap of 5.98 metres (m) to gain the silver medal. Ashleigh Nalty produced a personal best clearance of 1.50m and took second-place in the Girls U13 Long Jump. Vashti Morris snatched the Bronze medal in the U13 Girls 400m.

Jon-Mikol Rankine fell short of the Boys U13 100m final with a time of 13.86s. Also, Arron McLaughlin did not make it to the Boy’s U15 100m with a time of 12.97s.

Other members of the team include: Megan Anderson, Alisha Bailey, Livingston Bailey, Jorel Bellafonte, Kimberly Bush, Dimitri Chambers, Kristen Dixon, Peter Grant, Neville Marston, Melinda McLean, Pearl Moran, Karim Murray, Avril Myers, Justin Nalty, Wesley Robinson, Damion Rose, Miyah Seymour, Daneliz Thomas, Sheyla Torres, Dean Paul Wallace, Bryan Walters, Gizelle Wright, and Jada Wright.

The team was coached by Tyrone Yen and Harcourt Watson. Ms. Paula Erskine managed the squad while Mrs. Lanisia McLaughlin-Barnes and Mrs. Carneth Thomas acted as chaperones.

The Cayman Islands Athletic Association (CIAA) took time to thank the Government of the Cayman Islands for its financial backing of the team. The Association also thanked Progressive Distributors Ltd. for their donation of Gatorade and a carrying case for the team members. Thanks were also given to those parents and supporters who accompanied the team.

Reportedly, the President of the CIAA indicated to the President of the C.U.T. that the Association would like to bid to host either the 2008 or 2010 Championships. It was said that the Association feels the Championships are an invaluable developmental tool for the region’s young athletes.

Comments are closed.