CIAA names track team for Island Games

The Cayman Islands Athletic Association has selected twelve males and three females to represent the country at the 2007 Island Games in Rhodes to be staged between the 27th June to the 26th July 2007.

The Team which will be Coached by Mr. Harcourt Wason, will be managed by CIAA’s Second Vice-President, Mr. Jerry Harper, while CIAA Secretary, Ms. Sana Tugman will act as Team Chaperone.

The Athletes selected are: Stephon Johnson, Rhymiech Adolphus, Maxwell Hyman, Robert Ibeh, Carlos Morgan, Carl Morgan, David Hamil, Michael Letterlough, Omar Wright, Perry Anglin, Junior Hines, Michael Letterlough, Kareem Streete Thompson, Anissa Owen, Alexandra Terry and Cydonie Mothersill.

The selection of both Streete-Thompson and Mothersill, the country’s top International athletes is subject to confirmation by these athletes of their availability to compete in the Games.

Notable absentees from the Team are 110m/400m Hurdler, Ronald Forbes, sprinters Kemar Hyman and Tyrell Cuffy and quarter miler Sean Troop. Forbes continues to recover from an injury, while Hyman and Cuffy are slated for duties at the Pan Am Juniors and Troop at the World Youth Championships, Meets which clash in scheduling with the Island Games. It is hoped that Forbes will be fit and ready for the NACAC Open Championships and the Pan Am Games which follow the Island Games, which will be used by a number of the Athletes to attain the qualifying standards for the Pan Am Games.

The bulk of team is scheduled to depart the Island on the 26th June 2007 and return on the 8th July 2007.

Comments are closed.