High flying action for All Star games

Players have been selected for the Appleby’s Under-19 All Stars games set for this Saturday at the Digicel courts.

The Girls’ All Star game starts at 7 p.m. and the the Boys’ All Star game is set to follow right afterward. But the action on the courts begins at 6:15 p.m. with a three-point contest.

All Star teams are selected by picking the top four players from each team. This means that the top four players will have bragging rights and the opportunity to strut their stuff on the court. But that’s not all, basketball fans, as the Cayman Islands Basketball Association is planning to have a three-point shooting contest and a dunking contest (depending on interest) before the games start.

Redver Ebanks, who coaches both the Boys’ U-19 Areal Assault and the Girls’ U-19 Showstoppers in the Appleby’s Leagues, said to expect a high level of play.

‘The action on the courts will be both exciting and entertaining to watch. These are the top players from each team so they are going to execute plays with a high degree of skill.’

Ebanks noted that the players to watch out for in the team are Krystle Barrett and Katherine Ebanks. ‘These players are both point guards so I predict that it will be the battle of the point guards for the girls. For the boys it will be Deandre Simpson and Josh Cotterell. With Simpson the action is going to be high flying to the basket, and we don’t call Cotterell ‘Microwave’ for nothing. He gets hot instantly. It’s all about the offensive game with Cotterell.’

The Girls’ All Star Team consists of:

All Star Purple

Ashleigh Nalty, Eldisha Walton, Kenisha Lumsden, Krystle Barrett, Leanna Jarvis, Martika Williams, Melissa Smith, Rose-Marie Wilson, Tishelle Logan, Whitney General

All Star White

Alexandra Terry, April Ebanks, Ashliegh Miller, Benecia Mullings, Catherine Ebanks, Christina Mclean, Christsania Mclean, Courtisha Ebanks, Krystal Barnes, Tracey Barnes

The Boys’ All Star Team consists of:

All Star Purple

Andre McFarlin, Daryl Paddyfoot, Davie Cotterell, Jake Whittaker, Jarrett Terry, Josh Cotterell,

Maxwell Hyman, Nicholas Roberts, Shane Chambers, Stephen Shaw

All Star White Team

Bruce Thompson, Courtney Wisdom, David Taylor, David Terry, Deandre Simpson, Javier Howell, Jonathan Powery, Michael Blackburn, Nigel Ebanks, Robert Watler

Comments are closed.