Returning riders set to take over JAC

A record 28 riders have turned out for the 2008 edition of the popular annual sporting event, Cable and Wireless Jet Around Cayman.

‘We are stunned by this year’s turnout,’ race founder and Monster Media managing director Kenny Rankin said. ‘This sport obviously continues to grow in its popularity. I am thrilled to see how hard these men have worked to prepare for the race.’

Returning riders form a large contingent of the 2008 Jet Around Cayman race. 2003 winner Jason Smith – who was the youngest rider ever to capture the win – will return in 2008 to recapture his glory with Team Barely Legal.

‘We are excited that Jason has returned to the race,’ Mr. Rankin commented. ‘He is a great young talent and has the hunger to be one of the best riders the race has ever seen. I can’t wait to see what he will do.’

George ‘Lulu’ Smith will return to the race, after winning last year’s Open Class with a time of 1:26:15. Smith’s biggest competitor from 2007 – Jordan McLean – will also return. Some say Smith gained the win narrowly, saved only by McLean’s breakdown. In 2007, McLean blasted through the first half of the course with a huge two-minute lead only to break down at the second pit stop in East End.

2007 Open Class runner up finisher and 2006 Rookie Champion ‘Honey G’ Gonzales is amped up for yet another Jet Around Cayman. Organisers state this rider is a rising star and will definitely win big in 2008.

‘He’s one to watch,’ Mr. Rankin said.

2004 Open Class winner Vance Ramgeet will return to the race, as part of his well-supported team Good 2 Go. Although he broke down in 2008, with several JAC races under his belt, Vance is considered to be a strong contender for this year’s Open Class prize.

Team WesTec will once again have a contingent in the Jet Around Cayman race. According to Mr. Rankin, they’ve been a fixture since the event’s inception.

Returning riders are Don Patrick, who will race in the veteran’s class, and 2005 Open Class winner Billy Ebanks.

Filling out the new veteran’s class are Team 2 Frenzied’s Shane ‘Nobee’ Edwards and Mack McLean, whose son Jordan so narrowly missed the win in 2007.

Other returning riders include Robert Thompson and Glen Ebanks, both former top finishers in the race.

‘Some years, we are most excited about the new talent and that’s great, too,’ concluded Rankin. ‘But this year belongs to the returning riders. There is a lot of talent there. These guys are coming to win. And they have the power to do it.’

The 2008 Cable and Wireless Jet Around Cayman race will be broadcast live on Vibe 98.9 FM. Tune in for updates. The race starts at 1pm at Public Beach.

Comments are closed.