New CIBA Board named

Caymanian attorney-at-law, Bryan Hunter has been elected president of the Cayman Islands Basketball Association (CIBA), along with new executive board members, following elections last month.

Mr. Hunter takes over from outgoing president, Dale Ramoon.

New board members are Deon Ebanks, first vice president; Courtney Wisdom, second vice president and Shawn Pitterson, assistant secretary.

Lolita Hanna (secretary), Cleveland Steward (treasurer) and Rohan Marshall (PR officer) retained their respective positions on the CIBA board.

Mr. Hunter, who has been serving as first vice president since 2006, said he was honoured to be elected president.

‘I look forward to working with my fellow Board members to continue the Association’s efforts to raise the profile and popularity of basketball in Cayman, to develop and maintain effective youth programmes and to continue the development of national team programmes that are able to produce teams that can compete successfully in regional and international competitions,’ he stated.

He thanked the immediate past president, Dale Ramoon, for his many years of dedicated service to the association.

The Cayman Islands Basketball Association is a non-profit association whose membership currently consists of the clubs and teams that participate in the Men’s and Women’s National Leagues.

The basketball association was formed to promote the development of the sport of basketball in the Cayman Islands, among other objectives. In any given year, the association attempts to meet its objectives by, among other things, developing and promoting basketball leagues, camps and other events and by arranging for teams representing the Cayman Islands to participate in regional and international competitions.