Fidel’s pointed out

Some of the island’s best dart players were honoured last week.

The awards ceremony for the second annual Marjorie Bodden Memorial tournament was held at Centre Spot Sports Bar on Mary Street, George Town.

The tournament is in honour of Marjorie Bodden, an avid darts aficionado who passed away a few years ago.

Last Wednesday a handful of darts enthusiasts came out to get their props for their play in the tournament.

Centre Spot Manager Kevin McGeough would prove to be a great host as dart lovers enjoyed a spirited evening.

The biggest winners on the night were team Fidel’s. The squad scooped up a number of awards including first place overall, top female player (Linda Locke) and the lowest finish (Jack Rieg).

The team consisted of Eddie Balantine, Linda Locke, Adrian Mannoche, Mark O’Keefe, Jack Rieg (who has since left the island) and Mirjam Vanhamersveld.

Team Spoilers won second place overall in the competition. The squad was lead by captain Cassius Anglin and consisted of Paul and Phillip Anglin, Michelle Cullen, Jasper Esguerra, Randy Parchment, Marlon Ramos and Mel Tagalog.

Team Corner Pocket came third in spite of many veteran players. The team consisted of Ricky Bodden, Neville Parker, Phillip Parsons, Earl Smith and Chris Upstone among others.

The team awards were presented by Frank Roulstone, Head of Sales and Marketing at Cayman Distributors Ltd.

A number of individual awards were presented on the night. The awards had added meaning as they were presented by George Bodden (the widower of the late Marjorie Bodden).

Mel Tagalog had a great night as he nabbed a pair of awards for the top male player and most tons.

In addition to the awards mentioned earlier, Earl Smith won the trophy for the most 180s and Duval Dompiles of Harrows claimed the prize for the highest finish.

The 2009 Marjorie Bodden Memorial tournament was sponsored by Guinness (a product of Cayman Distributors Ltd). Funds raised from the tournament were donated to the Cayman Islands Hospice Care.