World Cup test will be tough

As the day of reckoning draws near
the Cayman Islands National Under-17 girls are making their final preparations
to leave on Sunday for San Jose, Costa Rica to participate in the finals of the
CONCACAF Under-17 Women’s Championship 2010.

The competition will run from 10-20

Technical Director Thiago Cunha
said: “I believe we did everything possible to bring these girls to this high
level to compete against teams such as Costa Rica. We had some preparation
games here in Cayman against local clubs, in Orlando against U-18 women’s teams
and two games against Jamaica U-17s.

“The aim was look at all players
individually and players who had not been to that level before. We have seen
them perform and we as the coaching staff will be making adjustments as we go
along to secure Cayman’s position in the advance stages. Our opponents are no
strangers at this level but we are prepared for the challenge.”

Cayman will play their first game
on 10 March against hosts Costa Rica at 7:30pm, United States, the defending
champions, on 12 March at 5pm and Haiti on 14 March at 11am.

The two top teams and the best two
third placed teams will advance to the semis on 18 March and the finals will be
played on 20 March.

Twenty girls form the core of the
squad making this trip. They are Emily Kelly, Jasmine Ebanks, Tacita Berry,
Brianna Hydes, Brittany Mobley, Amanda Nelson, Marissa McLaughlin, Chelsea
Bush, Alyssa Chin, Jetena Bodden, Shanice Monteith, Chelsea Greene, Chelsea
Brown, Shanelle Frederick, Monique Roberts, Brittany Bodden, Ashani Francis,
Xotchilt Watler, Ashleigh Shim and Nikki Ebanks.

The team will be accompanied by
Head of Delegation Martha Godet, Cunha, Head Coach Bobby McLaren, Manager
Gloria Gall, Equipment Manager Annette Monteith and Physiotherapist Al Bartice.

The girls qualified last December
for these final and have been doing intensive training since early January
under the directions of Women’s Technical Director Thiago Cunha, McLaren and
National Technical Director Carl Brown.

They will compete in Group B while
Group A will field Canada, Mexico, Jamaica and Panama. These eight teams will
compete for the championship and a place in the World Cup finals to be held in
August in Trinidad and Tobago.