Newbies rev hard

Dexterity racing is officially back
on the local motorsports scene.

The Valvoline and Parkers Time
Attack series, held by the Cayman Motorsports Association, resumed its monthly
program recently. The races were held at the Progressive Loop behind CUC and
provided a delight to drivers and spectators alike.

There were 16 drivers who
participated on Saturday. Races began at 6:30pm and the event provided a very
new crowd from last year.  There were
several new cars in attendance even though not all had new drivers.

Gary Bromfield made his reappearance
with a new white Honda Civic Type R. Kirk Fletcher, who is new to the Time
Attack scene, put his turbocharged Civic to the test. Alchrist Bodden made his
debut and did not disappoint with his new Yellow Mustang and proved that
standard norms did not apply.

Also in attendance for the first
time was the Porsche Carrera 4S driven by Richard Crawshaw and the 1990 Ford Mustang
driven by Phil Harper.

The field was split with eight drivers
running their four rounds first and the second set of eight running their four
rounds last.

FWD and RWD have been combined for
2010 to make up a Two Wheel Drive Class. 
Gary Bromfield in his Civic Type R placed third, Jerad Ebanks in his
Turbo Starlet came second and winner of 2WD for the night was Ajoni Ambersley
in his Nissan Primera with a time of 131.402 seconds.

Ajoni used to be teased by his competitors
of being the slow one is his original car, a Subaru Legacy wagon.  But it seems that Ambersely has silenced his
critics and should be a tough contender this season. As Ambersely states, he
has more success on his mind this season.

“I’m really happy with my performance
at this event and I’m really looking forward to the rest of the year and
showing everyone what I can do.”

The All Wheel Drive class saw Erol Babayigit
with his black Mitsubishi Evolution III take third place, Ian Charlery in his
Subaru Impreza take second and newcomer Richard Crawshaw in his Porsche grab
the first place spot.

Seasoned racer and association president
Bobby Hulse in his Toyota Altezza returned to the Unlimited Class, where his
first attempt saw the fastest time at the time at 129.352s.  Unfortunately, this glory would be
short-lived by Keith “Speedy” Tibbetts in his Valvoline Subaru Sti who has
moved into the Unlimited Class for 2010. 

Keith would be the winner for
Unlimited with a time of 121.458s.  Third
place would go to Ian Tibbetts in the borrowed Stingray Batteries Evo 3 to
round off the class.

Due to rain in the second half of
the night, the second group of racers was only able to make one pass around the
track. Drivers and spectators can look forward to the next Time Attack on Sunday
March 21st at the loop.

The association board (President
Bobby Hulse, Vice President Wayne Kirkconnell, Secretary Keith Tibbetts and
Treasurer Ian Tibbetts) would like to thank Parker’s and Valovline for sponsoring
this year’s Time Attack series and the volunteers for making this event a success. 

For more information email the
Board at [email protected]