New prison board prepared

Cayman’s newly appointed Prisons Inspection Board members recently completed two days of intensive training to prepare them for their duties.

The members’ responsibilities became effective on 1 November. The training was designed to help them gain an understanding of prison operations, safety issues and human rights in prisons, as well as the intentional standards, which govern prison inspections worldwide.

These standards express the ideal found in Article 10 of the United International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which reads: “All persons deprived of their liberty shall be treated with humanity and with respect for the inherent dignity of the human person.”

The Prisons Inspection Board has seven members, six of whom are selected by Cabinet from Cayman’s electoral districts. The chairperson is appointed by the Office of the Deputy Governor.

The 2010-2012 Prisons Inspection Board members are: Arek Joseph, chairman; Rachel Ebanks (West Bay), Peter Van Der Bol (George Town), Caroline Solomon (Bodden Town), Audley Scott (Sister Islands), Linda Connolly (North Side) and McFarlane Conolly (East End).

The board’s mission is to provide an in independent perspective on behalf of the public and Cabinet regarding conditions in correctional facilities and the ways in which such facilities are achieving their objectives.

Further, the board’s mission is to ensure that the prison facilities in the Cayman Islands meet required standards for the care and detention of prisoners.

Cayman’s Prison Inspection Board has been in operation for the past 15 years and is underpinned by a requirement for prisons inspection in the Prisons Law 1975 (section 42).


Seated, from left, are board members Caronline Solomon, Rachel Ebanks, Chairman Arek Joseph, Peter Van Der Bol and Audley Scott. Standing, from left, are members Linda Connolly and McFarlane Conolly, Deputy Governor Donovan Ebanks and Prisons Inspection Board Administrator Deborah Prendergast.– PHOTO: STUART WILSON