Franklin holds on to top job

Competitive angling in the Cayman Islands has already seen some big fish in 2011. Arguably one of its most important catches will hang around for awhile longer.

Franklin Thompson was recently re-elected as President of the Cayman Islands Angling Club. At the annual general meeting for the national fishing body, Thompson was appointed back to the spot he held last year.

Joining him on the executive board is Donal Burns (Vice President), Lee Foster (Advisor), Len Layman (Website Administrator), Mark Bothwell and Graham Peck (Committee members), Donna Sjostrom (Chief Radio Control), Heather D. Bodden (Secretary), Tania Smith (Assistant Secretary), James G. Ebanks (Treasurer), Michelle Ebanks-Barnes (Assistant Treasurer), Kenny Ryan (Cayman Brac representative) and Chris Briggs and Mark Tompkins (New members panel). As of this month the club has over 100 members, with the majority being male anglers. There are 10 female anglers and junior anglers as well.

News of the AGM results come as fishermen gear up to attend the Miami international boat show next weekend 17-21 February. The show is a chance for anglers to grab new gear and learn tips on big-game fishing. The last major tournament in Cayman took place last month in the form of the 2011 Barcadere Classic and saw big catches such as Jodi Hydes’ yellowfin tuna that weighed in at 39.8 pounds (she was aboard Strikeforce).

Comments are closed.