Puerto Rico seeks glory on links

Puerto Rico has already tasted success in regional golf and wants more kudos in 2011.

This week marks the start of the RBC Royal Bank 55th annual Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships. Trinidad will serve as hosts with action taking place 3-6 August at Millennium Lakes Golf Club in Trincity.

Puerto Rico Golf Association President Sidney Wolf feels his country can replicate their success in last years.

“We look forward for a better performance this year from all five of our teams since they all look pretty strong and competitive,” Wolf said. “There’s no reason why we cannot improve our results from at least the past two years, where we won the George Teale and Arthur Zaide trophies at the Barbados 2010 event. Our goals are to successfully defend two titles and try to win another to other competitions, including the Hoerman Cup.”

Aside from their success in Barbados, Puerto Rico also claimed the championship back in 2008 in the Cayman Islands. This year Puerto Rico will be sending a team of 14 amateurs golfers divided into five different groups

. The star of the team is Paola Robles who has been Puerto Rico’s national women’s champion the last two years in a row. Robles will be part of a women’s squad looking to win the George Teale trophy for a fifth consecutive year. Robles brings 10 years of experience playing golf and recently won this year’s Caribbean Amateur Junior Golf Championship Girls 16-17 category in Barbados.

Puerto Rico’s Hoerman Cup team features: Alfred Colón (2011 top amateur and a veteran Caribbean Amateurs player who guided Puerto Rico to the Cup in Cayman), Erick J. Morales (top player at 2009 Caribbean Amateurs and currently Puerto Rico’s second-best amateur golfer, he played college golf at the Rutgers University), Robert P. Calvesbert (the 2011 amateur champion is playing in the Caribbean Amateurs for the fourth consecutive year and is a member of the Mississippi State University golf team), Christian Rivera (2009 junior amateur champion making his debut at Caribbean Amateurs) and Andrew Baez (the tournament’s youngest player at age 16, he was the runner-up at the Caribbean Junior Amateurs this year).

Robles leads the George Teale team consisting of Maria Fernanda Torres (2011 junior amateur champion), Rebekah Alfond (a triathlon athlete and Brown University golfer making her Caribbean Amateur debut). The rest of the squad sees Elvin Gonzalez Jr and Felipe Colon (Ramon Baez trophy), Cesar Serrano and Mario Carbia (Francis and Steele-Perkins trophy), Israel Ortiz and Carlos Matos (Higgs and Higgs trophy).

For more information log on to

www.cagc2011.com or www.cgagolfnet.com

Comments are closed.