HR Society asked for input

The Cayman Islands Society of Human Resources Professionals is increasingly becoming involved in public/private consultations.

“We are being asked for input and we are being listened to,” said Society President Samantha Nehra during the organisation’s 12th annual general meeting Thursday at the Marriott Beach Resort.

Ms Nehra, who was confirmed for a second year as president, said during the year the society was consulted regarding the Future of Cayman Forum and in the future, it will give input on the government’s review of Cayman’s controversial rollover policy for foreign workers. The society will also consult with various organisations about the implementation of the new Gender Equality Law.

In addition to getting more involved in consultations and improving its partnerships with other associations and entities, Ms Nehra said other goals for the year included expanding members’ opportunities for professional development; increasing membership from the current 176 members to 250; increasing applicants by 50 per cent for the society’s annual Top Employer Award; expanding its scholarship programmes; and launching a new website, which is already scheduled for the third week of October.

Another key focus is to increase social learning and networking opportunities, Ms Nehra said.

On the question of finances, Ms. Nehra said the performance had improved significantly over the previous year. In the 2009/10 financial year, the organisation had a loss of $19,675, while in 2010/11 it showed a profit of $14,405. It did this by increasing its revenue by $27,111 (44.4 per cent) while decreasing it’s expenses $6,969 (8.6 per cent).

Former society president Mario Ebanks served as the facilitator of the meeting, also presiding over the elections. In addition to Ms Nehra returning for a second year as president, other officers and directors elected during the meeting included: Ahisha Bodden, vice president; Cindy Downing, secretary; Elizabeth Depledge, treasurer; Milly Serpell, director; Ramona Ritch, director; Dawn McLean-Sawney, director; and Joanna Virtue Markham, director. Immediate Past President Phil Jackson also serves on the board.


Comments are closed.