Young Caymanian candidate sought

The Foundation for the Young Caymanian Leadership Award has begun accepting nominations to recognise the next young leaders of Cayman. 

Each year, young Caymanians ages 20-35 are nominated and considered for the YCLA award, an event acknowledging and celebrating the work and achievement of young people, now in its 13th year. 

“We rely entirely on the community to nominate young Caymanians for the YCLA,” said Melissa Wolfe, of the foundation. “Everyone knows an outstanding leader that deserves recognition. The onus is on each individual to ensure that special person is nominated and therefore eligible for the award.” 

The current YCLA recipient is Natalie Urquhart, director of the Cayman Island National Gallery. 

Previous recipients have included Olivaire Watler, Dax Foster, Sara Collins, Steve Blair, Cindy Scotland, Jonathan Tibbetts, Canover Watson, Stephen Ryan, Elroy Bryan and Collin Anglin. 

Anyone may nominate a young Caymanian, including parents, siblings, coworkers, fellow church members, friends or spouses.  

The dead for submission of nominations is Monday, 31 October. 

“Well-rounded and dedicated leaders surround us everyday and they are effective role models for our younger generation. The Foundation was created so that the public can identify and honour them with a nomination,” Ms Wolfe said. 

She said nominees for the YCLA must demonstrate strong leadership qualities through personal and professional accomplishments and that determining factors include character, professional achievements, community involvement and commitment to helping others. 

An honorary board of 15 prominent Cayman leaders will decide who the YCLA recipient will be. 

The 2012 YCLA will be presented at an annual gala evening awards ceremony, which will be televised live on Cayman27 next year. 


The Foundation has sent information packs to human resources departments of major companies and nomination form can be obtained by calling Ms Wolfe at 916-8335 or emailing [email protected] 
For the first time, nominations can also be submitted online at the YCLA website at 

YCLA 2011 Cayman

Finalists of the 2011 YCLA, from left, were Richard Christian, Ventisha Conolly, Natalie Urquhart, Chantal Whittaker and Shari Whittaker. – PHOTO: SUBMITTED

Comments are closed.