Port Authority Board changes continue

Replacements coming from Carson Ebanks, Nick Freeland

The Port Authority of the Cayman Islands Board of Directors has lost several more members just months after a shake-up that saw the resignation or removal of three other members. 

Nick Freeland, who was officially added to the board on 6 July, has resigned as the deputy chairman. Mr. Freeland replaced Woody Foster, who resigned on 25 June. No replacement has been named for Mr. Freeland as of yet, said the Port 
Authority’s Katherine Smalldon. 

Contacted about his departure, Mr. Freeland said he resigned 
in early October.  

“It was sort of a personal issue between me and the chairman,” he said. 

Also no longer on the Port Authority Board is former Permanent Secretary for Tourism Carson Ebanks, who retired from the civil service in September. Ms Smalldon said a replacement for Mr. Ebanks, who served on the board in an ex officio capacity, was expected to be announced shortly. 

Two other board members listed on the Port Authority’s website – Lee Ramoon and Sonia McLaughlin – are no longer on the board as ex officio members, although Ms Smalldon said Mr. Ramoon actually replaced Ms McLaughlin and that Michael Nixon had now replaced Mr. Ramoon as the Financial Secretary’s representative.  

The rest of the Port Authority Board remains with Chairman John Henry Ebanks and appointed members James “Sonny Boy” Bodden; Curley Evans; Rudolph Garvin; Aston Bodden; and Anthony Akiwumi. Other ex officio members include Port Director Paul Hurlston and Carlon Powery as the Collector of Customs. 

The rapid changes in the membership of the Port Authority Board have come at a critical time as the board tries to conclude a definitive agreement for the construction of a cruise berthing facility for the 
Cayman Islands. 

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now