District Day winners revealed

Ah, Pirates Week, presented by SaxonMG. Only a few short weeks ago and yet we are already looking toward 2012.

But we need also to make sure we wrap things up properly (at this time of year more than ever) so here’s the final results for us to enjoy initially with our eyes and subsequently through our remembering muscles.

This year, says Pirates Week, it was decided to include Cayman Brac in the District Day Competition so unfortunately the districts in Grand Cayman had to wait for the results.

This wasn’t the only change, we understand: it was decided to only judge the Heritage Day activities and not include anything going on in the evening, most districts opted to conclude activities straight after the fireworks.

Above results were stunning and a mere point separated the winners.

All the winners receive plaques and monetary awards thanks to Cayman Islands Department of Tourism.

There were six judges appointed – one from each district – and three impartial judges selected by Pirates Week.

These were Naidelys Eden, Clinton Judson, Rolkin Jackson. Sharon L. Ebanks, John Evans, DelmiraBodden, Jeffrey Rivers, Anne Mason and Craig Scott.

The judging sheets were tallied and checked by PriceWaterhouseCoopers, for which Pirates Week says it is ‘truly thankful’.

See you in 2012, folks – here in Weekenderland we’re already designing our costumes.

Comments are closed.