Racers make pit stop til January

Motorsports is gearing down for Christmas in the Cayman Islands.

The Cayman Motorsports Association is on its holiday break until 2013, at which time there will be events tied to the 2012 season. For starters, an awards ceremony to honour the winners of this year’s Time Attack series is slated for the afternoon of 19 January.

Tom Kirkconnell’s residence is expected to be the venue. Details will be posted regarding exact times after the Christmas break.

After that comes the Annual General Meeting on 23 January at 6.30pm at the clubhouse above Tony’s Toys warehouse on the Progressive loop. Everyone is encouraged to attend as there will be significant points to discuss on the agenda.

Both events follow on the heels of a successful 2012 season, that saw numerous stellar showings from the likes of Team Fuzzy Bunny who won all but one of the classes.

Fuzzy Bunny member Jimel McLean guided a Honda Civic to win the street and battle sections of the Two-Wheel Drive class, registering 425 and 450 points, respectively. In the street category, McLean would beat out Aaron Haylock, who notched 365pts in a Civic. McLean topped Reynaldo Powery’s Nissan Primera, who had 450pts in the battle segment.

Alexander ‘AJ’ Conolly won the All Wheel Drive division in his Mitsubishi Evolution VIII with 300pts. Jose Massias had 225pts and Peter Jurgens notched 150pts.

In the Unlimited division, Keith ‘Speedy’ Tibbetts III ran his Valvoline Subaru Impreza Sti to the overall title. In the street segment, he notched 600pts to overshadow the 460pts of Tom Kirkconnell’s Mazda RX-7. The battle section saw Speedy earn 425pts, ahead of Bobby Hulse’s 365pts.

The association thanks everyone who volunteered over the course of the year, with special thanks to our sponsors Cayman Karting, Automotive Art and in particular Tony’s Toys.

Comments are closed.