Burger Shack stuffed with glory

Burger Shack and Wok-n-Roll continued their dominance by winning the Burger King Flag Football Coed League “A” and “B” division championships, respectively, in consecutive seasons.  

For Burger Shack, who are more commonly known as Child Please!, this was their third A Division championship in four years. Led by Kevin Solomon, the team was bolstered by familiar names such as Perry Levy, Will Peguero Jr., Cassandra Bodden, Barrett Edri, Terry Ballard, Jessica Solomon, Malaqui Awe, Sophy Broad and Isatou Sey. 

They knocked off Maples in the semifinals and then the National Building Society in the finals behind some stellar defence and balanced offence. Solomon was once again the driving force with a number of big time throws and seven touchdown passes. Levy made his mark with three TD receptions and one defensive interception returned for a TD.  

Bodden had three TD receptions and one sack, notching the division’s most outstanding female performer. Ballard and Edri solidified their defence with a heavy pass rush and two critical defensive INTs. Broad and Sey chipped in with a couple extra points and blanketing coverage on defence.  

“It was a fun and enjoyable year, securing a playoff position early and then focusing on winning another championship” said Solomon. “This was truly a team effort and we were blessed with talented players that came together to deliver as a team.  

“A special thank you to our sponsor Burger Shack for their support and we look forward to a fun event to celebrate. I am particularly looking forward to a gourmet Shack Burger whilst most of the team eagerly anticipates their Haagen Dazs Milkshake!” 

For Wok-n-Roll, their reign continued under the arm of Antoinette Lewis, legs of Jason Wong and mind of Adrean Russell. Additional veterans like Phil Brown, Alexandra Saintvil, Rob Duty, Carrie Barnett, Shinette Rhoden, Jermaine Sharpe, Agueda Blake, Jamal Anderson and Treveen Stewart rounded out their roster.  

They defeated Kirk Freeport in the semi-finals and then Mourant Ozannes in the finals in what was considered the best game of the night. Lewis was the key component, mystifying the opposition with her calm demeanour and eccentric sunglasses. She had six TD passes on the night and claimed the B Division’s most outstanding female performer.  

Jason Wong had a couple TDs on the ground and kept the chains moving throughout. He netted the division’s most outstanding male performer as Wok-n-Roll swept all the major awards.  

Barnett came up big in the finals with two game-breaking TDs and Duty chipped in with one TD. In the semifinals, Raj Jackson and Brown each had a TD and Stewart had a defensive INT returned for a TD. Defensively, Blake was a force throughout with a relentless pass rush and Saintvil kept her receivers neutralised. 

“We were tested by two excellent teams during this playoff run,” Russell said. “But thanks to great team play and individuals stepping up in key moments, we were able to come out on top.” 

There were some other notable performers throughout the night, albeit in losing efforts. Brendon Malice of the Building Society was awarded the A Division’s most outstanding male performer. Brad Connolly of Mourant Ozannes had a commendable season propelling his embryonic squad to a finals appearance and Jerry Beck got the most out of his upstart Kirk 
Freeport team.  

“Overall, we were extremely pleased with the expansion of the league,” said organiser Perry Levy. “The general interest in the sport continues to grow rapidly and we hope to build on that. We understand that the consensus going forward is to have more games and we certainly plan on accommodating those demands. 

“On behalf of the association, I want to thank all of the team sponsors and particularly recognize the Burger King group for their unwavering support over the years.” 

The focus will now shift to the Premier League commencing in early June where the Hellcats and the newly re-branded Hellkittens start their title defence. 

Comments are closed.