Game Takers grab props

The Game Takers have all the bragging rights heading into the playoffs. 

The squad, 8-2, won the regular season crown in Division Two of the Cayman Islands Basketball Association National Men’s League. Cleve Stewart Snr and Daniel Augustine were among the team leaders during matches at Camana Bay’s Arts and Recreation Centre. Ending up in second would be Team Philippines, 7-3, under captains Paul Villanueva and Darwin Mancenido. 

Esso Blazers made a remarkable late-season surge to land third at 5-4, behind the likes of Daniel Quinland. Ovaine Monteith and reigning champions Charterland, 4-4, barely claimed the fourth and final playoff spot. 

At the bottom of the standings would be Titans, 3-5, behind Bruce Thompson, and New Jerusalem, 0-9, under Michael Blackburn. 

The playoffs were slated to start in late May and are expected to continue this Thursday, 6 June. At 6.15pm, Game Takers are scheduled to face Charterland while Philippines battle Esso at 7.45pm. 

A number of players excelled heading into the postseason. Charterland’s Jeremy Strickland led the league in scoring averaging 19.4 points per game and he scored the most 3-pointers with 28 treys. The Titans’ Kadane Hall was the top rebounder averaging 15.3 rebounds per contest and he was the top shot blocker with a league high 11 blocks.  

Game Takers’ Bruce Reynolds was the top passer averaging 5.5 assists per game. Nigel Ebanks of Game Takers led from the charity stripe with an 81.5 per cent free throw percentage. Rommel Mesina of Philippines had 29 steals to lead the league.  


Cleve Stewart Snr guided Game Takers to first place. – PHOTO: MATTHEW YATES

Comments are closed.