Seafarers elect new president

The Cayman Islands Seafarers Association has elected a new president along with a new board of directors. 

Ivan Farrington is president, and the board of directors for 2015 are: vice president Steve McField, council members Capt. Owen Farrington, Ransford Terry, Wenzil Burlington, Neils Godfrey and George Ebanks, treasurer Leonard Ebanks and secretary Herbert Martin. 

Ivan Farrington’s seafaring career began in 1952 with his first trip to Miskito Cay, Nicaragua, to catch turtles. His last official seafaring voyage was on the SS Gulf Service in 1971. He sailed ships to major ports all over the world, according to the Seafarers Association.  

He has been involved with the Seafarers Association since its inception in 1994 as a nonprofit organization for the benefit of the seamen of the Cayman Islands, their spouses and families. 

Outgoing president Delano Bush and members of the Seafarers Association congratulated Mr. Farrington on his new role. He was elected by members during the association’s general meeting at the Seafarers Hall last week. 

According to the seafarers, Mr. Farrington brings new and enthusiastic leadership to the Association with his commitment not only to the completion of existing executive projects, but also to moving forward with new projects and upholding the Association protocols, which recognize the sacrifices made by seafarers for the financial benefits earned. 

Mr. Farrington has also committed to ensuring the best healthcare solutions are available to Cayman’s aging seafarers and to the whole population. 


Ivan Farrington


The Seafarers Association’s new board of directors and council members.