Hernandez, Lloyd named CONCACAF Players of the Year

Carli Lloyd signs autographs at the Arie Smith Football Camp on Dec. 21 in Grand Cayman. She was named CONCACAF's Female Player of the Year for 2015 on Friday. - PHOTO: MATT LAMERS

Mexico’s Javier Hernandez and USA’s Carli Lloyd were named Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football’s 2015 Male and Female Players of the Year on Friday.

Hernandez, who has been in exceptional form with Bayer 04 Leverkusen in the German Bundesliga and UEFA Champions League, stood out for his performances with the Mexican national team. He scored the first goal in a 3-2 CONCACAF Cup triumph over the United States, which gave Mexico a berth in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup.

Lloyd captained the United States team that won the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup title.

The midfielder earned the tournament’s Golden Ball award in the process. She was also named the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year and the 2015 U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year.

Lloyd visited Cayman last month to help motivate and give pointers to young local players at a football camp.

- Advertisement -

Both players won for the first time in the awards’ three-year history.

Winners were also announced in 11 other categories.

Tim Howard (USA) won Male Goalkeeper of the Year, his third CONCACAF award, while Hope Davis (USA) won Female Goalkeeper of the Year.

Coaches of the Year were Hernan Dario Gomez (Panama Men’s National Team) and Jill Ellis (USA Women’s National Team). Referees of the Year were Joel Aguilar (El Salvador) and Kimberly Moreira (Costa Rica).

Goal of the Year went to Carli Lloyd for her 16th minute goal in the USA versus Japan game in the FIFA World Cup final.

For the first time, best XI squads were selected, with Mexico and Costa Rica placing five players on the male and female teams, respectively.

To determine the winners, votes of three segments within CONCACAF were counted, with member associations’ national team coaches and captains (women’s and men’s), accredited media and fans each accounting for one third of the final vote, organizers said.

- Advertisement -

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now