Queensgate Pigs Trotters crowned club rugby champions

Hugh Williams of Fidelity Storm being taken down by Pigs Trotters’ Al Lum. – Photos: Caroline Deegan

The Queensgate Pigs Trotters won the DART Alex Alexander Memorial Cup on Saturday for the 3rd consecutive session by beating the Fidelity Cayman Storm by a convincing 67-27 scoreline.

This team remained unbeaten through the season and scored on average more than 50 points per game. They played an attacking game pattern, which entertained the crowd throughout.

Alan Lum led the team with great aplomb and was also chosen as the player of the tournament. The management team of Paul Parker and Garry Southway also deserve credit.

The Pigs Trotters’ Keswick Wright, the ex-sprinter with a best time of 10.3 in the 100 meters, was the top try scorer with 12 tries.

The John Doak Iguanas ended the season in the 2nd place when beating Advance Fire Buccaneers convincingly.

- Advertisement -

In all they won four of their six games. Advance Fire Buccaneers has a good pack of forwards and a very good half back pairing in Morgan Shelver and Dave Stringer.

The Fidelity Cayman Storm was however the surprise package of the tournament. Without many big-name players they continued to produce gutsy performances and they managed to get a full compliment of players out to training. Their great team spirit was evident throughout.

The team of the tournament was chosen by Cayman Rugby TV, the coaching staff of all the club teams, members, referees, executive and the coaching staff of the national team.

The team of the tournament comprised: Killian Everitt (Storm); Keswick Wright (Pigs); Shaun McDermott (Pigs); Dano O’Connor (Iguanas); Phil Parker (Storm); Morgan Shelver (Buccaneers); Neil Montgomery (Pigs); Chris Kennedy (Iguanas); Ben Blair (Buccaneers); Alan Lum (Pigs); Yohann Regnard (Buccaneers); Paul Smith (Storm); Phil Fourie (Buccaneers); Andre Ormond (Iguanas); Dan Bond (Buccaneers); Conor Brady (Buccaneers); Peter de Vere (Iguanas); Mick Greaves (Storm); Saviriano Tabuaniwere (Buccaneers); Sam Anderson (Pigs); Dave Stringer (Buccaneers); Clive O’Mahony (Pigs); Abdul Patterson (Pigs).

- Advertisement -

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now