Cayman’s National Swim Team returned from Barbados last week with five hard-earned medals.

The Central American and Caribbean Swimming Championship was hosted at the Barbados Aquatics Centre in Wildey, Christ Church, from 28 June to 2 July.

The tournament hosted 550 swimmers across all swimming disciplines, and close to 400 swimmers in competitive swimming over 151 events. The races were swam as preliminary qualifying heats in the morning and finals in the evenings, a similar format to CARIFTA and other four- or five-day swim meets.

Eight Cayman swimmers made it through to the finals, resulting in one gold and four bronze medals. CCCAN is a more competitive meet than CARIFTA, as it includes swimmers from Central America as well as swimmers over 18 years old.

The Cayman Islands placed 17th overall out of 27 teams, with 65 points from the pool events and 11 points from Open Water. Cayman had standout performances from Harper Barrowman, who came home with a gold and two bronze medals, and Alex Dakers and Kaitlyn Sullivan who won a bronze medal apiece. Dakers, Stefano Bonati and Jake Bailey competed in the 5K Open Water race, with all three Cayman swimmers finishing in the points.

“Cayman had impressive results at CCCAN with nine of the eleven swimmers competing at this event for the first time. Timing for this event was challenging, as half of the representative team headed to Gibraltar for the Island Games and were not able to attend both meets.” commented Steve Broadbelt, Cayman Islands Ameteur Swimming Association director for media.

“CIASA would like to congratulate all swimmers who represented the Cayman Islands at the CCCAN Championships and we commend their dedication, commitment and passion for the sport of swimming.” said Michael Lockwood, CIASA president.

CCCAN is an age group swimming championship, with 11-12, 13-14, 15-17 and 18 and over age categories. Cayman’s swimmers were all aged from 12 to 18 years old.

The 11 members of the Cayman Islands contingent were Jake Bailey, Harper Barrowman, Stefano Bonati, Alex Dakers, Corey Frederick-Westerborg, Lauren Hew, Sarah Jackson, Stephanie Royston, Will Sellars, Kaitlyn Sullivan and Zachary Moore.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now