New office for Health Commission

Cayman’s Health Practice Commission officially opened its office in the Sigma Building with a visit from the Minister for Health Services Mr. Gilbert McLean last week.

Previously located in the Cayman Islands Hospital, the new, larger offices will enable the commission to deal with its expanded responsibilities, says a Government press release.

Established in June 2004 under the Health Practice Law (2002), the HPC licenses health care facilities and is home to the four professional councils regulating health care professionals in the Cayman Islands.

Chairing the commission is the Ministry of Health Services’ Permanent Secretary Andrea Bryan. Members include Dr. Steve Tomlinson, who is the commission’s deputy chairman; Chief Building Control Officer McCleary Frederick; Crown Counsel Mr. Lindsey Cacho; and Medical Officer of Health Dr. Kiran Kumar.

‘The commission is a step forward for health care in Cayman as it will continue to raise the bar for health facilities and health care practitioners,’ said Minister McLean. ‘The councils will ensure that everyone gets health care from qualified professionals, while the commission will ensure that this care takes place in a facility that is safe, staffed by qualified professionals, and outfitted with the necessary equipment.’

In the past, health care facilities received planning approval prior to construction, but there was no ongoing monitoring, the release said. Under the new law, HPC inspectors will visit all health care facilities to ensure that they are safe have appropriate and adequate equipment in place and public liability insurance. The HPC will also ensure that all health practitioners working in the licensed healthcare facilities are registered with appropriate councils and have mal practice insurance.

The Medical and Dental Council will license medical doctors, podiatrists, osteopaths, (trained in the US), dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental technicians and dental surgical assistants;

The Nursing and Midwifery Council will license nurses, midwives, nurse practitioners, nurse anaesthetists, practical nurses and registered mental health nurses;

The Pharmacy Council will be responsible for pharmacists; and

The Council for Professions Allied with Medicine will license all other health care professionals that are listed in Schedule 6 of the Health Practice Law, 2002 such as acupuncturists, chiropractors, optometrists, paramedics, and mental health counsellors, to name a few

Health Practice Commission

Ms Andrea Bryan, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health Services, Chairperson

Dr. Steve Tomlinson, Deputy Chairman

Lindsey Cacho, Assignee of Attorney General

Dr. A.K. Kumar, Medical Officer of Health

McCleary Frederick, Chief Building Control Officer

Health Appeals Tribunal

Eileen Nervik, Chairperson

Nicholas Johnson

Professor Owen Morgan

Offices of HPC and Councils: Sigma Building, 93 Hospital Road. Tel: 949-2813 Fax: 946-2845.

If you value our service, if you have turned to us in the past few days or weeks for verified, factual updates, if you have watched our live streaming of press conferences or sent an article to a friend... please consider a donation. Quality local journalism was at risk before the coronavirus crisis. It is now deeply threatened. Even a small amount can go a long way to sustaining our mission of informing the public. We need our readers’ financial support now more than ever.