Water Authority honours staff

The Water Authority-Cayman hosted its fifth- annual staff meeting at The Wharf Restaurant on 28 October.

The theme for this year’s meeting was ‘Together we make a difference!’

Staff was treated to a full lunch buffet and an afternoon of special recognition for their dedication and hard work, said a press release from the Authority.

Long service awards for five years, 10 years and 20 years service to the Authority were presented.

Receiving their five-year service awards were: Shivoan Boddden, Catherine Crabb, Janice Dixon, Dominique Ebanks, Highmoreland Ebanks, Trecia Hew, Herbert Myles, Luis Rodriguez, Carlos Scott, Reyna Scott and Latanya Stephenson.

Ten-year service awards were presented to: Cliff Ebanks, Marcela Martinez-Ebanks, Don Smith, and Gustavo Riapira.

A 20-year service award was presented to Thomas Hill who commenced employment with the Authority on 9 April, 1985 as Superintendent (Operations). Earlier this year, he was promoted to Deputy Director – Operations. Additionally, he has been the Chairman of the Plumbers Examination Board for the past 18 years.

Staff members who successfully passed examinations and achieved operator certifications at varying levels were also presented with certificates and financial rewards.

The recipients were: Samuel Campbell, Paul Connolly, Kenworth Connor, Marcela Martinez-Ebanks, William Ebanks, Joseph Gadsby, Shavonnie Hislop, Hendrik Jan-van Genderen, Brenda MacAree and Brian Martinez.

Four Water Authority Board Members were also recognized for their 20-plus years of service to the Authority. Arden McLean, Minister for Communications, Works and Infrastructure, presented the three Board Members who were present with tokens of appreciation immediately after the lunch. He thanked all Water Authority Board Members for their valuable service and contribution to the Authority.

The Minister was pleased to confirm that Mr. Brainard Watler would remain as Chairman of the Board.

The Minister expressed his gratitude to the management and staff of the Water Authority for the Authority’s achievements in developing water and wastewater infrastructure in the Cayman Islands.

Special guest speakers were John Borgwardt, Manager, Cayman Hospice Care; Deborah Webb, Research and Programme Development, Department of Children and Family Services; Clifton Gayle, Executive Director, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Cayman Islands; Hendrik-Jan van Genderen, Charter Member of Rotary Club of Grand Cayman Sunrise and Water Authority employee; and Liz Smith, PR Director, Special Olympics of the Cayman Islands.

Dr. Gelia Frederick-van Genderen, Director of the Water Authority, expressed her gratitude to the staff for their dedication and commitment to the Authority.

‘Thank you for the many years you have given to the Authority, your commitment and dedication is truly appreciated,’ she said.

Comments are closed.