Top Primary Football players honoured

A football legend once said, ‘In football, the greatest satisfaction is winning when they say you can’t!’ In the 2005/2006 Primary Football League, every young footballer was a winner because they played the game they love and gave it their all.

The 2005/2006 CUC Primary Football League recently closed the book on a magnificent first season with an eventful trophy presentation at the Prospect Primary School Hall. Approximately 130 individual trophies along with six team trophies were presented to the victorious young footballers who brought glory and bragging rights for their respective schools by finishing champions, runners-up or in third place in the ‘A’ and ‘B’ Leagues.

On hand to make the presentations were representatives from major sponsors CUC including Richard Hew, Joey Ebanks and Caren Thompson, as well as League organisers Harcourt Wason, Ronnie Roach and Philip Hackett. The usual vociferous entourage of coaches, teachers, parents, supporters and well wishers accompanied the various teams.

Following an inspiring welcome and congratulatory few words from Harcourt Wason and CUC’s President & C.E.O. Richard Hew, the presentations began with ‘A’ League third place finishers George Town Primary and champions John A. Cumber Primary accepting their awards (‘A’ League runners-up St. Ignatius Prep were unable to attend the ceremony). Next up was ‘B’ League third place finishers and hosts Prospect Primary, runners-up Red Bay Primary and champions John A. Cumber Primary.

With the majority of the individual trophies in the hands of the deserving players, the Leagues’ awards for individual excellence were next on the list. For the first time since the Primary League’s inception, awards for Most Valuable Player, Top Goal Scorer, Goalkeeper of the Year and Defender of the Year were presented. These awards were voted on by the participating coaches with the awardees being the player accumulating the highest number of votes (see accompanying list for players receiving these awards).

In addition, and again for the first time, an All-Primary ‘A’ and ‘B’ team, consisting of the elite players from both leagues, were voted on by the coaches. These players were selected not only for their talent, but also for their teamwork, consistency, leadership and commitment on the field. Nine players representing the ‘A’ League and nine players from the ‘B’ League were presented with a plaque, certificate and a polo shirt commemorating their achievements (see accompanying list for the All-Primary teams).

To close the ceremony, PFL organisers Ronnie Roach, Harcourt Wason and Philip Hackett were presented with awards for their untiring efforts in overseeing the League and officiating several games. Finally, CUC’s Joey Ebanks and Gary Whittaker were rewarded for their assistance with officiating throughout the season.

CUC and the Primary Football League Committee thank all the companies who contributed to the success of the 2005/2006 season. Special thanks to State Street Cayman Trust Company Ltd. for sponsoring the impressive League and Rally trophies. Thanks to the companies who sponsored team t-shirt, which included Cool Runnings (George Town Primary), SAM’s Mobile Cleaning Services (Truth For Youth), Superior Dry Wall (Triple C), Fabrizone (First Baptist), Cayman Security Officers and Roy Campbell & Sons Construction (Red Bay Primary), Double ‘G’ Ranch (Savannah Primary), and Hon. Edna Moyle and Joey Ebanks (North Side Primary); and Mega Importers Ltd. for the embroidered polo shirts for the All-Primary teams.

Special tribute to the players who proudly represented their schools to the best of their abilities, to the coaches and assistants for their hard work in preparing their teams, to the referees for their time, and the teachers, parents and fans for their fabulous support of their respective teams and for adding humour, colour and glitz to the sidelines.

CUC anticipates an exciting 2006/2007 season and another successful chapter in the history of the Primary Football League – the powerful game!

‘A’ League:

Third Place: George Town Primary

Runners-up: St. Ignatius Prep

Champions: John A. Cumber Primary

‘B’ League:

Third Place: Prospect Primary

Runners-up: Red Bay Primary

Champions: John A. Cumber Primary

Individual Awards

‘A’ League:

Goalkeeper of the Year:

Daniel Watler, St. Ignatius Prep

Defender of the Year: Tacita Berry, Red Bay Primary

Top Goal Scorer: David Conolly, George Town Primary (24)

Most Valuable Player: David Conolly, George Town Primary

Coach of the Year: Rhuel Smith, John A. Cumber Primary

‘B’ League:

Goalkeeper of the Year:

Shakur Welcome, Prospect Primary

Defender of the Year: Donito Zelaya, Red Bay Primary

Top Goal Scorer: Jonah Ebanks, Red Bay Primary (12)

Most Valuable Player: Devante Brown, Prospect Primary

Coach of the Year: Steve Coles, John A. Cumber Primary

All-Primary Teams:

‘A’ League:

Daniel Watler, St. Ignatius Prep

Tacita Berry, Red Bay Primary

Johnny Thompson, St. Ignatius Prep

Dimitri Chambers, John A. Cumber Primary

Justin Henry, George Town Primary

Joshua Parsons, Triple C

Tyler Lee, St. Ignatius Prep

Tareek Gardner, Cayman Prep

David Conolly, George Town

‘B’ League:

Shakur Welcome, Prospect Primary

Donito Zelaya, Red Bay Primary

Nathan Myers, Cayman Prep

Ryan Burke, John A. Cumber Primary

Tristan Watler, Prospect Primary

Oliver Smith, Cayman International School

Devante Brown, Prospect Primary

Romario Dixon, Triple C

Jonah Ebanks, Red Bay Primary

If you value our service, if you have turned to us in the past few days or weeks for verified, factual updates, if you have watched our live streaming of press conferences or sent an article to a friend... please consider a donation. Quality local journalism was at risk before the coronavirus crisis. It is now deeply threatened. Even a small amount can go a long way to sustaining our mission of informing the public. We need our readers’ financial support now more than ever.