Annual London office reception held

The Cayman Islands Government London Office held its Annual Reception on 22 November at Skinners’ Hall in the City, according to a release from the UK.

Hosted by the Cayman Islands Government Representative in the UK, Ms Jennifer Dilbert, 170 guests attended the event in the historic surroundings of the 13th Century Banqueting Hall.

This year’s reception was organised to coincide with the Overseas Territories Consultative Council, held annually in London. The Council acts as a consultation forum for British Government ministers and delegations from the UK Overseas Territories including the leaders of the Territories’ Governments.

Ms Dilbert in her role as host greeted the guests and informed them that she has resumed her role as Cayman Islands Government Representative in the UK.

She spoke briefly of the OTCC meetings and in particular mentioned the welcome news that the UK Government has finally agreed to treat Overseas Territory Students as home students regarding fees

The Governor, Mr. Stuart Jack then gave an address, commenting on his experience over the past year

Mr Jack then proposed the Loyal Toast. This was followed by a short address from Cayman’s Leader of Government Business, Kurt Tibbetts.

John Owen, former Governor and current Chairman of Friends of Cayman gave thanks and formal acknowledgement to the London Office staff for their hard work over the past year.

He informed guests of the growing number of ‘Friends’ and their keen interest in supporting Cayman. Mr. Owen also mentioned a proposed fundraising dinner, to be held next spring, in aid of the Blue Iguana Project in Cayman.

Following a request from the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds it was agreed that they would launch their new directory at the function.

The book entitled ‘Important Bird Areas in the United Kingdom Overseas Territories; Priority Sites for Conservation’ includes a chapter on the Cayman Islands written by Patricia Bradley, Mat Cottam, Gina Ebanks-Petrie and Joni Solomon. Mr Alistair Gammell OBE, Director RSPB, gave a short address and copies of the book were distributed to all guests. .

The delegation from Cayman comprised Kurt Tibbetts, Alden McLaughlin, Samuel Bulgin, Ken Jefferson, Orrett Connor and Barbara Conolly. Also in attendance were MPs from the Cayman Islands All-Party Parliamentary Group, representatives from the Foreign Office, the diplomatic community and Commonwealth organisations, business contacts, Caymanians in London and many who had previously worked in the Cayman Islands. Staff from the Government Office, the Department of Tourism in London and the Maritime Authority (Southampton) were also present.

Comments are closed.