Who Will Be 2007 National Volleyball Champions?

While playoffs conclude this week, six of the eight finalists across the four National Volleyball divisions have now been seeded.

The Wendy’s Filipino women won a tough and exciting game against Weslyan Holiness to solidify a shot at winning the Division B League. Similarly the tenacious Schoolers Men have one more game to win the Mens Division B.

In Division A, the Fulcrum Thundercats lead by Emily Maley continued their winning streak with a convincing win in the playoffs last week. However veteran power Eleanor Berry and the Upsetters now stand in the way of the Womens Championship. Berry is one of five former national team players in the Upsetters’ lineup. In contrast the Fulcrum Thundercats team is a newly formed club yet also includes three former national team players as well as experienced Canadian and American players. Both teams have beaten each other in the league and will now meet again for one last showdown to decide once and for all the 2007 Womens National Champions.

In Division A Mens, Olney ‘OT’ Thompson will lead the Arsenal Falcons against their arch-rivals Kayotics for the championship. Thompson will be staring across the net into the equally determined eyes of Shervin Rankin.

On a side by side comparison of the lineups for Falcons and Kayotics, it is clear that both teams have high-flying offences as their strength. However, at this high level of competitive volleyball, each team’s defence will undoubtedly be the decisive factor.

Unsurprisingly for the two top teams, both Kayotics and Falcons are quite evenly matched. For defence, Kayotics have tall, strapping middle blockers in Peter Williams and Andrew Gordon while the Falcons have Miguel Lewis and Kennedy McGowan. For offence, Kayotics will be looking to Rankin and Daniel Pattico for searing smashes and line drives while Falcons will rely on the incredible vertical of OT Thompson and brute power from the aptly-named Nolan ‘Falcon’ Foster.

With equally strong lineups, the Mens Championship is a highly anticipated clash between the two best mens volleyball teams. The players on the court and the fans alike will expect every point to be hotly contested as each point will put only one team closer to a win. And this time the win gives that team the title of 2007 National Champions.

Comments are closed.