Planning staff gets a boost

The Cayman Islands Planning Department has added several new staff members to its planning, compliance, inspection and administration areas.

Planning staff

New Planning Department staff: includes Electrical Inspector Neville Faulknor, left; Planning Assistant 1, Kristen Smith, third from left; Compliance Officer Timothy Solomon, third from right; and Clerical Officer, James Ebanks, second from right. Also in photo are Director of Planning, Kenneth Ebanks, second from left, and Chief Building Control Officer Emerson Piercy, right. Photo: Submitted

‘These new staff members help to boost productivity and customer service in their sections which increases our ability to effectively meet the demands of the public,’ Director of Planning Kenneth Ebanks said.

Mr. Ebanks also thanked the Ministry of Planning, the Central Planning Authority members and government for their continued support of the department as it strives to improve its service to the community.

Neville Faulkner recently joined the department as an electrical inspector in the Building Control Unit.

With 22 years local experience as an electrician, including 10 years with his own business Faulknor Electric, Mr. Faulknor is eager to take on the new challenge as an inspector with the department.

Kristen Smith joins the Policy Development and Research Section of the Planning Department as a planning officer and is involved in the drafting of the much anticipated revisions to the Development Plan for Grand Cayman.

Ms Smith received a Masters of Science degree in Spatial Planning from Oxford Brookes University in 2005 and has worked in various planning departments across the UK. She is a certified Town Planner and a member of the Royal Town Planning Institute.

Timothy Solomon joined the department in June 2007 as a compliance officer. He is a familiar presence in the local community; with over 20 years experience in the property management field and is well versed in the area of finance after having worked in the financial industry for over 17 years. Mr. Solomon is a qualified banker with the Chartered Institute of Bankers in London and the Society of Trust and Executors Practitioners.

Jason Andrew Ebanks is the department’s newest clerical officer. Mr. Ebanks studied Natural Science at UCCI but is taking a break from his studies to work at the department to explore possible career options in the planning field. Jason will play a critical role as the department moves to centralised inspection scheduling.

Planning Department contact numbers:

Fixed line: 769-PLAN (7526)

Fax: 769-2922

E-mail: [email protected]


Inspector Contact Numbers

Robert Boyles (Building) 916-5142

Ernesto Carter (Building) 916-1282

John Elliott (Building) 926-2844

Andre Yates (Building) 916-6443

Ken Wright (Building)


Charles Alberga (Electrical) 916-2648

Shondel Bodden (Electrical) 925-7921

Neville Faulknor (Electrical) 916-0039

Garth Tibbetts (Electrical) 916-1106

Jeffrey Woods (Electrical) 916-0785

Maurice Lawson (Plumbing) 925-5175

James Smith (Plumbing) 925-3479

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now