Artists, musicians garner awards

The Cayman National Cultural Foundation’s 14th Annual National Arts and Culture Awards presentation was held at the Harquail Theatre recently.

Awards were as follows:

Nominees for Volunteer of the Year

Linda Appleqvist, Wendy George, Paul Samuels, Virginia Foster and Rotary Sunrise.

CNCF Volunteer of the Year Award

Paul Samuels

Nominees for Arts and Heritage Awards

Boatswain’s Beach, Captain Ned Miller, Chuck & Barrie Quappe, Deal Ebanks, Gaston Maloney, Native Sons, The North Side Kitchen Band, Rose May Ebanks and Wray Banker.

Artistic Endeavour Award

Deal Ebanks and Rose May Ebanks

Artistic Achievement Award

Wray Banker

Artistic Excellence Award

Chuck & Barrie Quappe

The Chairman’s Award(For outstanding contribution to the work of CNCF)

Gaston Maloney

Cayman Islands Department of Tourism

Cultural Heritage Award(for the exploration, promotion or preservation of Caymanian cultural heritage)

The North Side Kitchen Band

Nominees for the Corporate Sponsor of the Year Award(for outstanding support of the arts and the work of CNCF)

The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman, Sunshine Suites, C.I. Department of Tourism, Cayman 27, Cayman Airways, Marriott Resort Grand Cayman, Tropicana Tours, Cayman Islands Investment Bureau, Cable & Wireless

Corporate Sponsor of the Year

The Ritz-Carlton Grand Cayman

Two special awards were made. One was presented to Stephanie Williams for her long term volunteerism in support of CNCF. The other went to Deloitte for storing and preserving CNCF’s Gladwyn K. Bush Art Collection in the wake of Hurricane Ivan and for the ensuing two and half years.

Comments are closed.